verifiedbackuppowerdata
Power station

Jackery Explorer 5000 Plus

The short answer

This is a 5,040Wh battery with 7,200W of output, which means it stores about 4,284 watt-hours you can actually use and can run anything drawing up to 7,200 watts at once.

It runs indoors and makes no fumes. Of the 15 household loads we track, it can handle 16. It would keep a refrigerator going for 6.1–42.8 hours.

Check you have the right model

Jackery sells another model that can be mistaken for this one:

  • Jackery Explorer 2000 Plus — they differ by a single word: 5000 against 2000. peak output 6,000W instead of 14,400W.

Read the full model name off the label on the unit itself, not off the box or the listing. The figures on this page apply only to the exact name in the heading above.

Specs from the maker, checked against 9,944 US safety recalls. Anything we could not confirm is marked.

Judged in: The home-backup class: DELTA Pro 3, SOLIX F3800, Explorer 5000 Plus and the rest.

What it can run

LoadDrawRuntimeVerdict
Wi-Fi router and modem 15–40W 107.1–285.6h Will work
Phone charging and small USB devices 10–40W 107.1–428.4h Will work
A few LED lights 15–80W 53.6–285.6h Will work
Laptop and monitor 45–150W 28.6–95.2h Will work
CPAP 30–100W 42.8–142.8h Will work
Refrigerator/freezer 100–700W 6.1–42.8h Might work
Chest freezer 80–500W 8.6–53.6h Might work
Gas-furnace blower 400–1,200W 3.6–10.7h Might work
Sump pump 700–1,500W 2.9–6.1h Might work
Well pump 700–2,000W 2.1–6.1h Might work
Window air conditioner 500–3,250W 1.3–8.6h Might work
Microwave 800–1,800W 2.4–5.4h Will work
Coffee maker 700–1,500W 2.9–6.1h Will work
Television 40–250W 17.1–107.1h Will work
Garage door opener 300–800W 5.4–14.3h Will work
12 V compressor fridge (camping) 25–110W 38.9–171.4h Will work

The two numbers are how long it lasts if your appliances are efficient, and if they are not. Sized over a 24-hour outage.

Living with it

What the maker’s own pages and manual say about owning this unit, and what owners report in public. Each line links to where it was read. Nothing here is our own test.

Switchover when the grid drops
<20 ms in default Backup UPS mode; 0 ms in Online UPS mode, but Online UPS only works on the two NEMA 5-20 outlets and caps output at 3,600Wr.jackery.net
Pass-through charging
Supports Bypass Mode (charge from wall AC while simultaneously powering connected loads): rated 120V~60Hz, 12A Max on the standard input/output path, or 240V~60Hz, 16.7A Max on the higher-voltage path; the NEMA L14-30R and NEMA 14-50 outlets specifically cannot be used in Bypass mode while charging via the AC cabler.jackery.net
AC input
1,800W max via standard wall AC (120V~60Hz, 15A Max, labeled 'Charge Mode AC Input' in the manual's spec table)r.jackery.net
USB-C
100W max per USB-C port (PD profiles: 5V/3A, 9V/3A, 12V/3A, 15V/3A, 20V/5A)r.jackery.net
Outlets and ports
1x NEMA L14-30R/14-50 twist-lock AC outlet (120V/240V~60Hz, 30A, 7,200W max); 4x standard NEMA 5-20 AC outlets in two 3,600W-max banks (AC1+AC2 and AC3+AC4, each 120V/30A/3,600W max/7,200W surge) totaling 7,200W max/14,400W surge AC output; 2x USB-C (100W max each); 2x USB-A (18W max each); 1x cigarette-lighter/car port (12V, 10A); 1x AC expansion port (240V~60Hz, 30A, 7,200W max output / 16.7A max input); 1x DC expansion port (80.5V-126V, 41A max output)r.jackery.net
Charges between
0°C to 45°C (32°F to 113°F)r.jackery.net
Runs between
-15°C to 45°C (5°F to 113°F); output power is limited to 3,600W between -15°C and -10°C (5°F-14°F)r.jackery.net
Cycle life
4,000 charge cycles to 70%+ remaining capacity (LiFePO4 cells)r.jackery.net
Low-load shutoff
Energy Saving Mode (on by default) automatically turns off all outputs after 12 hours if the connected load stays at or below a low threshold; the manual's 'Output Power Defaults' table lists AC Output 25W, USB Output 2W, and Car Output 2W as the thresholds that count as no loadr.jackery.net
App
Jackery App (iOS/Android) over Wi-Fi (2.4GHz only, no 5GHz support) and Bluetooth; used for pairing, toggling Online UPS mode, Quiet Charging Mode, Battery Saving Mode, and the auto-shutdown timerr.jackery.net
Expansion
Supports up to 5 additional Jackery Battery Pack 5000 Plus (JBP-5000A) units via dedicated AC/DC expansion ports (AC expansion port rated 240V~60Hz, 30A, 7,200W max output / 16.7A max input); manual requires at least 200mm clearance between the main unit and a battery pack; per-pack capacity is not stated in this unit's manual, so total expanded capacity is not confirmed herer.jackery.net
Weight
About 134.5 lbs (61 kg)r.jackery.net
Warranty
5-year standard warranty (60 months from date of purchase); a 2-year extended warranty is available for an additional feer.jackery.net

What owners report, from public threads and long-term reviews; not our own testing.

  • One reviewer who ran a 90-day hands-on test measured idle power draw at roughly 58W, meaning the unit could sit idle for about 3.5 days before fully discharging on its own — reported as notably better than a competing large power station's ~80W idle draw.thesolarlab.com
  • The same reviewer found the unit struggled to start a 10,000W surge air conditioner despite the rated 14,400W surge spec, though it successfully carried 8,000-9,500W loads for 20-30 seconds at a time.thesolarlab.com
  • A separate 90-day reviewer measured real-world AC wall charging at about 1 hour 42 minutes from completely empty to full, close to Jackery's marketing claim, and measured UPS switchover at under 2 milliseconds in practice with no disruption to connected computers or medical equipment.backuppowerhub.com
  • That same reviewer measured fan noise at roughly 35-40 dB under loads below 3,000W, rising to 55-60 dB at loads of 5,000W or more, and reported the Jackery app occasionally needs to be force-closed and reopened to clear bugs during extended use.backuppowerhub.com
  • Both reviewers who ran multi-day appliance tests reported reliable, clean starts across repeated cycles on demanding 240V loads (e.g. a well pump starting cleanly across 50+ test cycles in one review), suggesting consistent inverter behavior under real household loads rather than one-off marketing numbers.backuppowerhub.com
  • The Jackery app can occasionally freeze or bug out during long-term use and needs to be force-closed and reopened to fix it.backuppowerhub.com
  • The unit has no built-in battery heating and cannot be charged below freezing without external heating, consistent with the manual's stated 0°C charging floor.backuppowerhub.com
  • The included 50A-style RV port is only wired for 30A service, limiting its usefulness for RVs/trailers that expect a full 50A feed.thesolarlab.com
  • The solar-input access door doesn't fully fold back, so users have to kneel to reach the MC4 connectors when the unit is on the ground.thesolarlab.com
  • Despite the rated 14,400W surge spec, the unit struggled to start one very high-draw 10,000W-surge air conditioner in testing, indicating the surge rating may not cover the largest single-appliance surges.thesolarlab.com

Specifications

Capacity
5,040Wh nameplate · 4,284Wh assumed usable
Continuous output
7,200W
Surge output
14,400W
Output voltage
120/240V
Weight
61kg
Solar input
Parallel-port connection rules require matched panel count/model characteristics. · DC8020 connector
Parallel-port connection rules require matched panel count/model characteristics.
AC recharge
1,750W
Expansion battery
E5000 Plus battery packs; up to five packs simultaneously
Confirm pack model and regional installation requirements.
Warranty
The product page offers extended-warranty add-ons for purchase but does not print the standard term. Marketing copy elsewhere advertises 'up to 11 years of peace of mind', which is a combined/conditional figure and is not recorded as a warranty term.
Generator recharge
Not captured from official page

Source: Jackery product page — captured 2026-08-12

Support: Jackery support page

Recall screen

No published recall names this exact model

Zero Jackery recalls in the captured snapshot. The 582 automated candidates come from the bare token '5000' and are noise, not product matches.

This check cannot clear your own unit. Most recalls cover only certain serial numbers. Read the model and serial number off the label on the unit itself, then check the maker's recall page before you use it, sell it, or buy it.

No manufacturer recall-lookup URL is captured for this brand. Use the CPSC recall search.

How we know the screen was not simply blind

Finding nothing only means something if the search could have found something. So we searched the same records for this brand and got 0 recalls. This brand does not appear in the database at all, so a null result here carries less weight than it would for a brand that does.

Buying the right one

No exact base-unit listing resolved

We could not confirm a retail listing whose own title states the same capacity and output as our record, so we are not linking one. Every candidate we checked is listed below with the reason it was rejected.

Listings we rejected

Searching for this model returns bundles, sibling models and refurbished units alongside the bare product. These are the ones we checked and did not link, with the reason.

ListingPriceWhy it is not this product
Jackery Solar Generator 5000 Plus Portable Power Station, 5040Wh LiFePO4, 7200W $3,149 Listing is a bundle (solar panel or kit), not the bare base unit our specifications describe.
Jackery Solar Generator 5000 Plus and 2x200W Panels, 5040Wh,7200W AC Output $4,144 Listing is a bundle (solar panel or kit), not the bare base unit our specifications describe.
Jackery Explorer 5000 Plus and Smart Transfer Switch, 5040Wh, 7200W Output $4,439 Listing is a bundle (solar panel or kit), not the bare base unit our specifications describe.
Jackery Solar Generator 5000 Plus and 500W Panels, 5040Wh, 7200W Output $4,344 Listing is a bundle (solar panel or kit), not the bare base unit our specifications describe.
Jackery HomePower 3600 Plus Power Station, 3584Wh, 3600W AC Output $1,709 Listing title does not contain the model name 'Explorer 5000 Plus'.

Official accessories

These are the maker's own words. "Sold on the same page" is not the same claim as "works with this model".

  • Battery Pack 5000 Plus
    Manufacturer wording: Compatible with 5000 Plus
  • Smart Transfer Switch professional install
    Manufacturer wording: Compatible with 5000 Plus
  • Power Input/Output Cable
    Manufacturer wording: Compatible with 5000 Plus
  • Explorer 5000 Plus Protective Cover
    Manufacturer wording: Compatible with 5000 Plus
  • DC-DC Alternator Charger
    Manufacturer wording: listed under Power Conversion accessories; no model compatibility stated
    Jackery does not state Explorer 5000 Plus compatibility for this item.
  • SolarSaga solar panel family (500X / 200W / 100 Prime / 100 Light / 100 Air / 40 Air)
    Manufacturer wording: listed without per-Explorer compatibility
    Jackery's accessory index does not state which Explorer models each SolarSaga panel fits. Confirm connector and voltage window before purchase.

Evidence coverage

What we know about this model, and what we do not. Anything marked as needing confirmation is a job still on our list, not something we are claiming.

manual revision
captured
quick start
captured
solar connector
captured
solar voltage current watt limits
captured
ac charge input
captured
generator charge policy
needs confirmation
expansion battery family and limit
captured
app firmware path
captured
warranty
needs confirmation
support
captured
recall adjudication
captured
official accessory edges
captured