verifiedbackuppowerdata

How much battery it takes to run a refrigerator, and which power station does it

A fridge is the appliance everyone wants kept running, and the one whose appetite varies most from house to house. Size it on the harder end of that range and the choice of station mostly makes itself.

Buy the EcoFlow DELTA 3 Classic (1024Wh) if your fridge is new and the kitchen stays cool, the EcoFlow DELTA 2 Max if you have never measured it and would rather not find out mid-outage, and the Anker SOLIX F3800 if the fridge is old, the kitchen is warm, or the power may stay off past a day. The planner checked 58 units against a refrigerator alone for 24 hours: 39 of them carry the efficient end of that plan and not one carries the hard end on a single charge. The gap between those two ends is your fridge, not your battery. Put its EnergyGuide figure into the calculator below, read the runtime table under it, and you will know which of the three you are shopping for.

The Amazon links on this page are affiliate links: if you buy through one we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you. It does not change which units are picked. How that works.

ModelUsableOutputShort of worst caseWeightPrice
Our pickEcoFlow DELTA 3 Classic (1024Wh)870 Wh1,800 W7,530 Wh27 lbon Amazon
If you are guessingEcoFlow DELTA 2 Max1,741 Wh2,400 W6,659 Wh51 lbon Amazon
For an old fridgeAnker SOLIX F38003,264 Wh6,000 W5,136 Wh132 lbon Amazon

Who this is for

You want one thing from a battery: the food still edible when the power comes back. Lamps can be candles and phones can wait for the car. That makes this the cleanest plan to size, because a fridge is a single motor with a predictable habit, and the least forgiving one to get wrong, since guessing low costs you a freezer emptied into a bin.

If you also want the router, some lights and everyone's phones through the same outage, read our page on portable power stations for home backup instead; it sizes the same three-way choice around that fuller list. And if the thing you need running is wired into the house rather than plugged into a socket, a well pump, a furnace blower, central air, no page about fridges will size it for you.

How much battery you need

480Wh, best case
8,400Wh, worst case: buy for this
700W running, worst case
2,900W starting surge

A fridge is not a load that sits still. The compressor runs until the box is cold, shuts off, and waits for it to drift back up, so your energy comes from the fraction of the day that motor turns, not the watts on the nameplate. The diagram above is that cycle. A newish fridge in a cool room with the door mostly shut spends roughly a fifth of the day running; the same fridge in a warm kitchen, opened all afternoon, can spend half of it running.

Three things push you up that range. Age is the biggest: seals leak, insulation settles, compressors tire, and an old box works harder for the same cold. Room temperature is next, because a fridge only pumps heat out into the kitchen, and a house without air conditioning warms up fast in a summer outage. Then the door, which tips the cold air onto the floor every time it opens.

That is why this page carries 480 watt-hours at one end and 8,400 at the other for a refrigerator alone for 24 hours, and why one recommendation would be a lie. Your EnergyGuide label is the figure you already own; feed it to the calculator below and it places your fridge on that range. The runtime table then shows how long each pick lasts at three points on the cycle. Read the label as a floor, though. The federal test runs at a fixed room temperature with the doors shut, which is not your outage.

Efficient fridge, cool kitchen: compressor on about 20% of the timeOlder fridge, warm kitchen, door opened often: on about 50% of the time24 hours
Every dark block is the compressor running at 100–700 W. Energy is watts × the share of the day it runs, which is why the same fridge can need 480 or 8,400 Wh in a day.

Find your own fridge on that range. The yellow EnergyGuide label inside the door, or the model page on the maker’s site, gives kilowatt-hours per year. Enter it and we place your fridge in this plan. The federal test runs at a fixed room temperature with the doors shut, so the label is your fridge’s floor, not its average.

Adjust this plan to your house. Change the hours or the loads and the picks are re-scored here, with the same planner and the same maker figures.

How long each pick runs a refrigerator/freezer

ModelEfficient, cool room
100 W on 20% of the time
Middle of the range
400 W on 35% of the time
Old, warm room, door opened often
700 W on 50% of the time
EcoFlow DELTA 3 Classic (1024Wh)44 h6 h2 h
EcoFlow DELTA 2 Max87 h12 h5 h
Anker SOLIX F3800163 h23 h9 h

Hours = usable energy divided by running watts times the share of the day the compressor runs. Nothing else on the battery, no inverter losses beyond the usable allowance, and no solar. Past a day the plan is a recharge.

Where the energy goes, load by load
LoadHoursRunning wattsDuty cycleEnergyShare of worst case
Refrigerator/freezer24100–70020–50%480–8,400 Wh100%

Energy = running watts × duty cycle × hours, at each end of the range. The right-hand end of every row is what the plan is sized on.

A refrigerator alone for 24 hours, run against all 58 units we track: 39 clear at least the best case, 16 do not, and 3 could not be judged (a missing maker figure or an unresolved recall identity). Every figure is from the maker’s own page or manual; nothing here was tested by us. The method.

Our pickEcoFlow DELTA 3 Classic (1024Wh)

Cheapest that carries an efficient fridge for a day

EcoFlow DELTA 3 Classic (1024Wh)
EcoFlow DELTA 3 Classic (1024Wh). Photo from the verified Amazon listing.

$559 at Amazon, September 16, 20261,024 Wh (870 usable)1,800 W continuous3,600 W peak27 lb

The EcoFlow DELTA 3 Classic (1024Wh) is the cheapest verified listing that carries an efficient fridge through the 24 hours of this plan while still swallowing the worst starting surge we model, which is the check that catches small stations out. At $559 and 12.1 kg it is also the only one of the three an ordinary person picks up and carries to wherever the fridge is. It suits someone with a newish fridge in a cool kitchen who wants the food safe through an outage that ends the same day, and who is not building a house system.

Against the worst case it is 7,530 Wh short: about 15.1 hours of full sun at its 500 W solar input, or roughly 38 hours from one 200 W panel, and real panels deliver less than their rating.

Check price at AmazonFull specs and sources

The listing we verified as the bare unit; the price is on Amazon.

A refrigerator alone for 24 hours:

  • Energyonly in the best case
  • Running loadyes, even in the worst case
  • Starting surgeyes, even in the worst case

Three days (72 hours) of the same fridge:

  • Energyno
  • Running loadyes, even in the worst case
  • Starting surgeyes, even in the worst case

Living with it

It refills from a wall socket to most of the way full in well under an hour, which matters between rolling outages: a real top-up, not a gesture. Sat between the wall socket and the fridge, it hands grid power along untouched and picks the load up when the grid dies, with a switchover EcoFlow puts at a few hundredths of a second, which no compressor will notice. A toggle in the app forces the fridge onto the battery while bypass is active, which is how you rehearse this on a quiet afternoon rather than during a storm.

The one setting to change before you need it is the idle shutoff. The AC output turns itself off after a timeout with nothing drawing, and EcoFlow's own manual warns the feature can misread an intermittent load and cut out on appliances that cycle. It names fridges. Set that timeout to never in the app the day the unit arrives. Reviewers rate the app well for monitoring and poorly for finding anything the first time through.

One reviewer measured its standby draw and inverter efficiency, called both good for the price, and found it near-silent at rest; EcoFlow rates it quiet at loads far above anything a fridge asks. It will not charge below freezing, which rules out an unheated garage in January. The same reviewer ran a small mini-fridge most of a day on one charge, then flattened the same battery in a couple of hours on a window air conditioner. Warranty: three years, or five if you register the unit.

Switchover when the grid drops
10 ms standby-UPS transfer timeus.ecoflow.com
Pass-through charging
Yes, auto Bypass Mode; app can force battery-only powerimages.thdstatic.com
Wall recharge
0-80% in about 45 minutes via AC chargingus.ecoflow.com
Noise
Under 30 dB at 600W; under 40 dB at 1200Wecoflow.com
Charges between
0°C to 45°C (32°F to 113°F)images.thdstatic.com
Low-load shutoff
AC output auto-shuts off after idle; adjustable, can disableimages.thdstatic.com
Warranty
3-year warranty, extendable to 5 years by registeringecoflow.com

What owners report, from public threads and long-term reviews; not our own testing.

  • One reviewer measured about 17W idle draw and roughly 83% inverter efficiency, both called strong for a budget-tier unit, with near-silent operation at idle.thesolarlab.com
  • Several reviewers flag the complete lack of a battery-expansion port as the unit's most common complaint, since sibling DELTA 3 models support add-on batteries and this one doesn't.prismopicks.com
  • One reviewer found a 60W mini-fridge ran about 14 hours on a full charge, but a small 5,000 BTU window AC unit drained the battery in under two hours.backuppowerhub.com
  • Reviewers note the unit ships with only three AC outlets (one reportedly ungrounded), no 12V car-style port, and a 500W solar input cap that ignores extra wattage from larger arrays.thesolarlab.com
  • One reviewer found EcoFlow's marketed 'Smart Generator' compatibility just means the unit can be AC-charged from a generator, not real generator-specific automation.thesolarlab.com

What independent testers measured

We do not test units ourselves. These are figures published by testers who did, with the maker’s claim beside them where the tester gave it.

MeasurementResultTester
Inverter efficiency, measured~83% inverter efficiency measured by the testerThe Solar Lab
Idle draw, measuredroughly 17W idle draw, as measured by the testerThe Solar Lab
Wall charge, empty to fulljust shy of 55 minutes, empty to full, on a standard wall outletThe Solar Lab
Also measuredAbout 2 hours to charge fully via solar panels in the tester's setupThe Solar Lab
  • A no-nonsense, budget-friendly portable power station well suited to camping or light emergency backup, though buyers wanting more ports/expandability should look elsewhere. The Solar Lab
  • Rated 8.2/10 and called the best budget entry point into EcoFlow's DELTA 3 lineup, though this review is spec-based (real-world use photos, no lab measurements) rather than hands-on tested. Backup Power Hub

What you give up

Capacity, and the fact that it can never grow. This is the least battery on the page, so an old fridge or a warm kitchen empties it first, and the complaint reviewers raise most often is that it has no expansion port when its own siblings take one. Its solar ceiling is the lowest here, and one reviewer found EcoFlow's generator compatibility claim means only that you can charge it from a generator. No work light, either.

Figures from us.ecoflow.com, captured August 13, 2026; recall screen: not screened against the recall database yet (how we screen, CPSC).

If you are guessingEcoFlow DELTA 2 Max

For a fridge you have not measured

EcoFlow DELTA 2 Max
EcoFlow DELTA 2 Max. Photo from the verified Amazon listing.

$1,049 at Amazon, September 16, 20262,048 Wh (1,741 usable)2,400 W continuous4,800 W peak51 lb

The EcoFlow DELTA 2 Max holds about twice the energy of the value pick and takes expansion batteries, which is what you want when you honestly do not know which end of the range your fridge sits on. It also still covers the easy end of a three-day outage, where the DELTA 3 Classic (1024Wh) has stopped. At 23 kg it is a two-handed lift rather than a two-person one. Buy it if you would rather pay once for the uncertainty than measure carefully and hope you measured right.

Against the worst case it is 6,659 Wh short: about 6.7 hours of full sun at its 1,000 W solar input, or roughly 33 hours from one 200 W panel, and real panels deliver less than their rating.

Check price at AmazonFull specs and sources

The listing we verified as the bare unit; the price is on Amazon.

A refrigerator alone for 24 hours:

  • Energyonly in the best case
  • Running loadyes, even in the worst case
  • Starting surgeyes, even in the worst case

Three days (72 hours) of the same fridge:

  • Energyonly in the best case
  • Running loadyes, even in the worst case
  • Starting surgeyes, even in the worst case

Living with it

What costs you energy on this unit is not the fridge, it is the inverter. Independent bench testing put real efficiency at roughly three-quarters at the couple-hundred-watt loads a running compressor makes, well below its rated sweet spot, and the same tester measured a fixed overhead from merely leaving the AC output switched on, several times the draw with it off. EcoFlow publishes no idle figure at all and the independent ones disagree, so the rule is blunt: if the fridge is not plugged in, the AC output is off.

Its timers are gentler than the value pick's. The unit sleeps after a couple of hours with the outputs off and nothing drawing, and the AC output alone gives up after half a day with no AC load, so a cycling fridge keeps it awake by itself. Pass-through works, though the manual limits how long heavy sustained bypass may run and says outright that the unit is no substitute for a real uninterruptible supply. Two figures disagree between EcoFlow's marketing page and its printed manual, the switchover time and the wall recharge time, and we print both rather than the flattering one. For noise, cold and the app, our home backup page covers this unit at length.

Switchover when the grid drops
About 20 ms (manual says within 30 ms)ecoflow.com
Pass-through charging
Yes, via AC bypass; not a true UPS for serverswebsiteoss.ecoflow.com
Wall recharge
0-80% in about 1.1 h on AC aloneecoflow.com
Noise
About 30 dBecoflow.com
Charges between
0°C to 45°C (32°F to 113°F)websiteoss.ecoflow.com
Low-load shutoff
AC outlets shut off after 12 h with no load; adjustable in appwebsiteoss.ecoflow.com
Expansion
Up to 2 extra batteries, 6,144 Wh totalwebsiteoss.ecoflow.com
Warranty
5-year warrantyecoflow.com

What owners report, from public threads and long-term reviews; not our own testing.

  • One tester measured about 23W drawn just from leaving AC output switched on (versus about 5W with it off) and recommends switching it off when not needed.windinmyface.com
  • At least one long-term owner reported USB output ports randomly stopped working, requiring a factory reset each time to restore them.4wdtalk.com
  • Independent bench testing found real-world AC efficiency drops to about 77% at everyday 200W loads, well below the unit's rated sweet-spot efficiency.windinmyface.com
  • One owner's 12V car outlet never worked from new, suspected to be an isolated manufacturing defect rather than a design-wide flaw.4wdtalk.com
  • A one-year overlander who ran the unit daily calls it reliable and consistent, and a two-year owner says it still delivers its full rated 2,400W without dropouts.4wdtalk.com

What independent testers measured

We do not test units ourselves. These are figures published by testers who did, with the maker’s claim beside them where the tester gave it.

MeasurementResultTester
Noise under load, measured52 dB measured fan noise during heavy loads/chargingPower Station Advisor
Wall charge, to 80%0-80% AC charge in 65 minutes, per the site's own spec/test line comparing it to the DELTA 2 (maker: EcoFlow rates 0% to 80% in 50 minutes (per a separate PowerStationAdvisor article on the same site))Power Station Advisor
Also measuredReal-world 14-hour power outage: ran fridge continuously, LED lights, charged devices, ran a space heater on low, finished with 23% capacity remaining, no add-on batteriesPower Station Advisor
Also measuredRefrigerator (full-size) runtime in personal testing: approximately 16-20 hours on a single charge (maker: EcoFlow-derived calculation elsewhere on the site put it at ~14.2 hours for a fridge cycling 100-400W)Power Station Advisor
  • After eight months of testing, the DELTA 2 Max is their top pick for whole-home backup, striking the best balance of capability, longevity and value in its class. (Our Top Pick for Whole-Home Backup) Power Station Advisor
  • Positioned as the better choice than the standard DELTA 2 for families needing whole-home backup, extended outages, and future battery expansion. Power Station Advisor

What you give up

Weight and money for a job one box smaller would often do. If your fridge turns out to sit at the efficient end, you have bought roughly twice the battery you needed and carried it up the stairs yourself. The dossier also notes that no published recall names this exact model, but that a similarly named product was recalled, and it names that product; read it before you order.

Figures from us.ecoflow.com, captured August 12, 2026; recall screen: no published recall names this exact model (screened 2026-08-12), but a similarly named product was recalled; the dossier names it (how we screen, CPSC).

For an old fridgeAnker SOLIX F3800

For an old fridge or a long outage

Anker SOLIX F3800
Anker SOLIX F3800. Photo from the verified Amazon listing.

$2,200 at Amazon, September 16, 20263,840 Wh (3,264 usable)6,000 W continuous9,000 W peak132 lb

The Anker SOLIX F3800 holds the most usable energy of the three with a verified listing, carries a hard-working fridge far deeper into a day than either EcoFlow, and still covers the easy end of a three-day outage. It takes up to six expansion batteries, the only path we can point at that reaches the hard end of this plan at all. Buy it if your fridge is old, your kitchen is warm, your outages arrive in days rather than hours, or there is a chest freezer standing next to the fridge.

Against the worst case it is 5,136 Wh short: about 2.1 hours of full sun at its 2,400 W solar input, or roughly 26 hours from one 200 W panel, and real panels deliver less than their rating.

Check price at AmazonFull specs and sources

The listing we verified as the bare unit; the price is on Amazon.

A refrigerator alone for 24 hours:

  • Energyonly in the best case
  • Running loadyes, even in the worst case
  • Starting surgeyes, even in the worst case

Three days (72 hours) of the same fridge:

  • Energyonly in the best case
  • Running loadyes, even in the worst case
  • Starting surgeyes, even in the worst case

Living with it

The most relevant thing published about this unit is that Pro Tool Reviews ran a refrigerator on it for a full day after Hurricane Milton, watching the battery drop through Anker's app over Bluetooth. That is this page's exact scenario, done by someone who really had no power. A fridge is also far too small a load to wake the fans, which testers found engage only past roughly forty percent draw and get genuinely loud near the top. For a fridge alone, the biggest of the three is the quietest.

Anker publishes no idle draw and no pass-through figure for the US unit; the numbers on its own product page that look like them belong to the F3800 Plus, a different model, so we leave both blank rather than borrow. One three-week test refilled it from a wall socket to most of the way full in a bit over an hour and a half, and measured real inverter efficiency at about eighty-five percent, so plan on the usable figure above rather than the one on the box. It powers itself down after half a day with the outputs off, adjustable in the app. It will not charge below freezing but keeps running far colder than either EcoFlow. The rest of its character is on our home backup page.

Charges between
0°C to 40°C (32°F to 104°F) while chargingsignaturesolar.com
Low-load shutoff
Shuts off after about 12 h idle with no loadsignaturesolar.com
Expansion
Up to 6 add-on batteries, 26.88 kWh added capacityankersolix.com

What owners report, from public threads and long-term reviews; not our own testing.

  • Multiple reviewers report fan noise climbs sharply under heavy load — about 68 dB at 90% load versus 58 dB at 50% load — despite near-silent operation at lighter loads.backuppowerhub.com
  • The roughly 132 lb weight is a recurring complaint; reviewers needed a second person or a vehicle ramp to move it anywhere the built-in wheels couldn't roll it.protoolreviews.com
  • One long-term tester measured real-world AC recharge at about 1 hour 38 minutes to 80% (roughly 2h21m full) on a standard outlet, slower than a quick top-up.backuppowerhub.com
  • A 2-ton central air conditioner drained the unit in only about 1.6 hours despite its 6,000W rating, so it isn't a practical all-day whole-home AC backup alone.backuppowerhub.com
  • One tester measured real-world inverter efficiency at only about 85%, meaning a 3,000W draw actually consumes roughly 3,530Wh from the battery — more than the rated draw implies.backuppowerhub.com

What independent testers measured

We do not test units ourselves. These are figures published by testers who did, with the maker’s claim beside them where the tester gave it.

MeasurementResultTester
Wall charge, to 80%1 hour 38 minutes from 0-80% on a standard 120V/15A outlet (max 1,440W input)Backup Power Hub
Wall charge, empty to full2 hours 21 minutes from dead to full via ACBackup Power Hub
Inverter efficiency, measured~85% inverter efficiency, measured during testingBackup Power Hub
Solar input achieved1,850W peak solar input achieved with three 400W panels in ideal conditions (maker: 2,400W rated solar input (per generatorchecker.com spec listing, not stated by this tester))Backup Power Hub
Noise under load, measured58 dB at 3 feet at 50% load (3000W)Backup Power Hub
Noise under load, measured68 dB at 90% load (5400W), 'comparable to a dishwasher'Backup Power Hub
  • After a three-week real-world test running central AC, refrigerators, and power tools, the reviewer rated the F3800 9.2/10, calling it the best split-phase 240V whole-home option currently on the market. (Editor's Choice (per site homepage listing, 9.2/10)) Backup Power Hub
  • The reviewer calls the F3800 a solid investment at $3,499 for whole-home backup power or off-grid adventures, despite it being the heaviest single-unit station they've tested. The Solar Lab

What you give up

Weight, and money you will not use. At 60.01 kg it is a wheeled appliance, and reviewers needed a second person or a ramp for stairs and for loading it into a car. For a fridge alone you will never approach its output rating: a tester emptied the whole battery on a central air conditioner in a fraction of the time this plan covers, and that is the kind of load the inverter is really there for.

Figures from ankersolix.com, captured August 12, 2026; recall screen: no published recall names this exact model (screened 2026-08-12) (how we screen, CPSC).

Day two and three

Stretch this to three days (72 hours) of the same fridge and the target becomes 1,440 to 25,200 watt-hours. The DELTA 3 Classic (1024Wh) no longer covers even the easy end of that; the DELTA 2 Max and the F3800 still do, and nothing we track covers the hard end. From the second morning on, you are not shopping for a battery any more; you are working out how to refill the one you own.

A fridge is the kindest load to refill, because it draws in bursts and a panel in good sun can gain on it through the afternoon even while it runs. That is where the three separate hardest. The DELTA 3 Classic (1024Wh) accepts the least solar, and reviewers note it ignores anything a larger array sends past its ceiling; the DELTA 2 Max takes roughly twice that and the F3800 more again. Batteries are the other refill: EcoFlow documents extra packs for the DELTA 2 Max, Anker as many as six for the F3800, and the DELTA 3 Classic (1024Wh) has no expansion port at all.

Hooking it up safely

The plug-in path is the plan on this page. The station sits indoors, the fridge, router and lamps plug into its outlets, and nothing touches the house wiring. That is the only path this page sizes.

If the station sits between the wall and the fridge in pass-through mode, the fridge keeps running when the grid drops and the station picks up the load. The switchover time and pass-through behaviour, where the maker publishes them, are listed under each pick above. A fridge tolerates a brief gap; a desktop computer may not.

Wired loads are a different job. A well pump, a furnace or a whole circuit needs a transfer switch or a power inlet installed by a licensed electrician. Never feed a station or a generator into a wall outlet: it backfeeds the line and can kill the crew restoring your power. The safety boundaries.

Output quality. A compressor wants a pure sine wave; that phrase belongs on the maker’s spec page, and a modified-sine inverter is the thing to avoid.

Buying it right

A search for any of these models returns bundles, sibling models and, often, the same unit under two listings at different prices. We link only a listing whose own title states the bare unit and its exact battery and output; the box should say the same. Check the seller is the maker or Amazon itself, and that the model number on the label matches the one on this page.

EcoFlow DELTA 3 Classic (1024Wh)

  • The listing we verified: “EF ECOFLOW Portable Power Station Delta 3 Classic, 1024Wh 1800W AC”, $559 when checked. Title states 1024Wh and 1800W, matching our record exactly.
  • “EF ECOFLOW Portable Power Station Delta 3 Classic with Bag, 1024Wh 1800W”, $509: a bundle, not the bare unit; the extra hardware is in the price.
  • “EF ECOFLOW Delta 3 Portable Power Station, 1024Wh 1800W”, $629: a different model that a search for this one returns.

EcoFlow DELTA 2 Max

  • The listing we verified: “EF ECOFLOW Portable Power Station DELTA 2 Max 2048Wh, 2400W LiFePO4 Battery”, $1,049 when checked. Title states 2048Wh and 2400W, matching our record exactly.
  • “EF ECOFLOW DELTA 2 Max Power Station Extra Battery, 2048Wh LiFePO4 Battery”, $879: the same unit under a second listing at $879; we link the cheaper verified one.
  • “EF ECOFLOW DELTA 3 Max Portable Power Station, 2048Wh LFP Battery, 2400W”, $1,199: a different model that a search for this one returns.
  • “EF EcoFlow Delta 2 Max Portable Power Station with 800W Alternator Charger”, $1,249: a bundle, not the bare unit; the extra hardware is in the price.
  • “EF ECOFLOW DELTA 2 Max Portable Power Station, 2048Wh, 2400W”, $1,399: the same unit under a second listing at $1,399; we link the cheaper verified one.

Anker SOLIX F3800

  • The listing we verified: “Anker SOLIX F3800 Portable Power Station, 3,840Wh”, $2,200 when checked. Title states 3840Wh and the exact model name with no variant word; it does not state a wattage, so output was not cross-checked against our 6000W record. (previously verified ASIN, re-checked by direct lookup)
  • “Anker SOLIX F3800 Portable Power Station and 400W Solar Panel, 3,840Wh”, $2,400: a bundle, not the bare unit; the extra hardware is in the price.
  • “Anker SOLIX F3800 Portable Power Station, 3840Wh, LiFePO4 Batteries, Ultra-High 6000W AC Output with 120V/240V, Solar Generator for Home Backup and Outdoor Camping (Renewed)”, $1,759: Listing is renewed/refurbished, not the new base unit..

What this page can’t promise

We cannot see your fridge, and this page is only as good as the figure you feed it. The label is a floor, not a forecast; the calculator gives a range, not an answer; and the runtime table assumes your compressor behaves the way the diagram says it does.

Neither maker publishes an idle draw for any of these three, and the independent measurements that exist disagree, so the cost of leaving a station switched on is the figure we cannot pin down. Nothing here was tested by us: the specifications are the makers' own, and owner reports come from published hands-on reviews, labelled as such. Where a marketing page and a printed manual disagree, we print both.

The competition

Every unit we track was run against the same plan. The ones that clear at least the best case are below with their own shortfall; the ones that do not are listed with the rule they fail.

Every unit that clears at least the best case (39)
ModelBatteryPeakWeightWorst-case shortfallVerified priceVerdict
Zendure SuperBase V64006,438Wh5,000Wnot captured2,928 Whno verified listingClears the best case only
Jackery Explorer 5000 Plus5,040Wh14,400W134 lb / 61.0 kg4,116 Whno verified listingClears the best case only
Zendure SuperBase V46004,608Wh5,000W55 lb / 25.0 kg4,483 Whno verified listingClears the best case only
EcoFlow DELTA Pro 34,096Wh8,000W114 lb / 51.5 kg4,918 Wh$3,699Clears the best case only
Goal Zero Yeti PRO 40003,994Wh7,200W116 lb / 52.5 kg5,005 Whno verified listingClears the best case only
Anker SOLIX F38003,840Wh9,000W132 lb / 60.0 kg5,136 Wh$2,200Clears the best case only
Anker SOLIX F3800 Plus3,840Wh9,000W132 lb / 60.0 kg5,136 Whno verified listingClears the best case only
Jackery HomePower 3600 Pro Max3,600Whnot capturednot captured5,340 Whno verified listingClears the best case only
EcoFlow DELTA Pro3,600Wh7,200W99 lb / 45.0 kg5,340 Whno verified listingClears the best case only
Jackery HomePower 3600 Plus3,600Whnot capturednot captured5,340 Whno verified listingClears the best case only
Anker SOLIX F3000 (UL9540 Certificated)3,072Wh7,200W91 lb / 41.5 kg5,789 Whno verified listingClears the best case only
EcoFlow DELTA 3 Ultra (3072Wh)3,072Wh7,200W72 lb / 32.7 kg5,789 Whno verified listingClears the best case only
Jackery HomePower 30003,072Wh7,200W60 lb / 27.0 kg5,789 Whno verified listingClears the best case only
EcoFlow DELTA 3 Ultra Plus (3072Wh)3,072Wh7,200W74 lb / 33.7 kg5,789 Wh$1,599Clears the best case only
BLUETTI Apex 300 Home Battery Backup2,765Wh7,680W84 lb / 38.0 kg6,050 Whno verified listingClears the best case only
Anker SOLIX F26002,560Wh2,800W70 lb / 31.6 kg6,224 Whno verified listingClears the best case only
Zendure SuperBase Pro 20002,096Wh4,000W47 lb / 21.2 kg6,618 Whno verified listingClears the best case only
Anker SOLIX C2000 Gen 22,048Wh4,000W41 lb / 18.6 kg6,659 Wh$1,000Clears the best case only
EcoFlow DELTA 2 Max2,048Wh4,800W51 lb / 23.0 kg6,659 Wh$1,049Clears the best case only
EcoFlow DELTA 3 Max (2048Wh)2,048Wh4,800W45 lb / 20.3 kg6,659 Whno verified listingClears the best case only
Jackery HomePower 2000 Plus v22,048Whnot capturednot captured6,659 Whno verified listingClears the best case only
BLUETTI AC200L2,048Whnot captured62 lb / 28.3 kg6,659 Whno verified listingClears the best case only
EcoFlow DELTA 3 Max Plus (2048Wh)2,048Wh6,000Wnot captured6,659 Whno verified listingClears the best case only
Jackery Explorer 2000 Plus2,043Wh6,000W62 lb / 27.9 kg6,664 Whno verified listingClears the best case only
Jackery Explorer 2000 v22,042Wh4,400W39 lb / 17.9 kg6,664 Wh$999Clears the best case only
PECRON E2000LFP1,920Wh4,000W49 lb / 22.0 kg6,768 Whno verified listingClears the best case only
Jackery Explorer 1500 Ultra1,536Wh3,600W39 lb / 17.5 kg7,094 Whno verified listingClears the best case only
Jackery Explorer 1500 v21,536Whnot capturednot captured7,094 Whno verified listingClears the best case only
Jackery Explorer 1000 Plus (JE-1000C)1,265Wh4,000W32 lb / 14.5 kg7,325 Whno verified listingClears the best case only
Jackery Explorer 1000 v21,070Wh3,000W24 lb / 10.8 kg7,490 Wh$559Clears the best case only
Anker SOLIX C10001,056Wh2,400W28 lb / 12.9 kg7,502 Wh$560Clears the best case only
Jackery HomePower 1000 v21,024Whnot capturednot captured7,530 Whno verified listingClears the best case only
EcoFlow DELTA 3 Plus1,024Wh3,600W28 lb / 12.5 kg7,530 Wh$719Clears the best case only
EcoFlow DELTA 3 Classic (1024Wh)1,024Wh3,600W27 lb / 12.1 kg7,530 Wh$559Clears the best case only
EcoFlow DELTA 31,024Wh3,600W28 lb / 12.5 kg7,530 Wh$629Clears the best case only
BLUETTI Elite 100 V21,024Wh2,700W25 lb / 11.5 kg7,530 Whno verified listingClears the best case only
EcoFlow DELTA 2 (EFD330)1,024Wh2,700W26 lb / 12.0 kg7,530 Wh$699Clears the best case only
Anker SOLIX C1000 Gen 21,024Wh3,000W25 lb / 11.3 kg7,530 Whno verified listingClears the best case only
Jackery Explorer 600 v2640Whnot capturednot captured7,856 Whno verified listingClears the best case only

Size your own list of appliances

What will not work, and why (16)

Questions people ask

How many watt hours does a refrigerator use per day?

Between 480 and 8,400 watt-hours in our model, and the range is wide because a compressor only runs part of the day. A newish fridge in a cool room sits near the bottom; an old one in a warm kitchen with the door opening all afternoon sits near the top. The calculator on this page turns your own EnergyGuide label into your figure, and that label is a floor rather than a forecast.

How long will a 1,000-watt-hour power station run a refrigerator?

Divide the usable energy by what your fridge actually draws, and remember that usable is less than the figure on the box: the EcoFlow DELTA 3 Classic (1024Wh) is a station of about that size, and its usable energy is 870 watt-hours. The runtime table on this page does that division for every pick at three duty levels, so you can read the efficient case, the middle and the hard case off one row instead of guessing at one.

Can a power station run a fridge and a freezer at the same time?

Our plan models one fridge-freezer, the single cabinet most kitchens have. A separate chest freezer is a second compressor with its own energy and its own starting surge, and the two can kick in together. Watts are not the problem, since all three picks clear the worst surge we model with room to spare, but energy is. Run both appliances through the planner rather than assume one box covers two.

Does a fridge need a pure sine wave power station?

It is the usual worry about compressor motors, and we will only tell you what we captured. EcoFlow states a pure sine wave output plainly in the DELTA 2 Max's outlet specification. We did not find the same sentence on the maker sources for the other two, so we will not put the words in their mouths. If it matters to you, ask the maker before you order rather than take it from a review.

Will the starting surge trip a small power station?

It can, and it is the check most people skip. The instant a compressor starts it pulls several times its running draw for a fraction of a second, and our plan models that worst case at 2,900 watts against a running load of 700 watts. All three picks clear it: the DELTA 3 Classic (1024Wh) is rated 3,600 watts at peak against 1,800 continuous. Read the peak figure on any station you consider, not the continuous one.

Other plans we sized

EcoFlow DELTA 3 Classic (1024Wh)Our pick

Check price at Amazon