The best portable power stations for a sump pump
A sump pump is a motor that starts hard and then runs in bursts: the starting surge decides which station can start it at all, and the weather decides how much energy it drinks. Sized on the harder end of every range.
Buy the EcoFlow DELTA 2 Max. It clears this plan's worst-case starting surge on the maker's own peak rating, it has a verified listing, and it takes expansion batteries if one day turns out not to be enough. The Jackery Explorer 2000 v2 holds much the same battery for less money, but its peak rating clears the surge in the best case only, which is a gamble on the one thing you are buying it to do. Take the Anker SOLIX F3800 if the storms where you live take the power out for days, because it holds nearly twice the usable battery and accepts the most solar of the three.
The Amazon links on this page are affiliate links: if you buy through one we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you. It does not change which units are picked. How that works.
| Model | Usable | Output | Short of worst case | Weight | Price | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Our pick | EcoFlow DELTA 2 Max | 1,741 Wh | 2,400 W | 12,299 Wh | 51 lb | on Amazon |
| Less money, thinner margin | Jackery Explorer 2000 v2 | 1,736 Wh | 2,200 W | 12,304 Wh | 39 lb | on Amazon |
| For a long storm | Anker SOLIX F3800 | 3,264 Wh | 6,000 W | 10,776 Wh | 132 lb | on Amazon |
Who this is for
You have a pump in a pit that fills when it rains hard, and you would rather not learn what happens when the same storm takes the power out. You want something that runs indoors, starts the pump on its own with nobody standing there, and keeps the router and a few lights going while it does.
If what you want is the fridge and the freezer through an outage, that is our page on portable power stations for home backup. If your pump is wired into a circuit rather than plugged into a socket, none of these does that job on its own: read the generator page and talk to an electrician. And if you are weighing one of these against a dedicated battery-backup pump, read the last question on this page first.
How much battery you need
Two numbers come out of this plan and only one of them decides the pick. Keeping everything running takes 730 to 1,620 watts, which is the easy part. Starting the pump takes 2,030 to 4,620 watts for a split second, and a station whose peak rating falls short of that does not run the pump weakly, it does not start it at all.
The energy range is wider still, because a sump pump's duty cycle is the weather. In a dry week the pit fills slowly and the pump runs a few minutes in the hour; in the storm that took the power out, water arrives faster than that and the pump can run a third of the time or more. Across 24 hours that is the difference between 1,230 and 14,040 watt-hours. The pump is almost all of it, and the router and the lamps together barely move the total.
We size on the storm rather than the dry week. Of the 58 stations we evaluated, 28 are workable at all, 0 cover the storm end outright and 28 cover the quiet end only. So the shape of the advice is this: buy the peak rating that will start your own pump, expect a quiet day to be covered and a bad one not to be, and treat anything past that as a recharge problem rather than a bigger-box problem.
Adjust this plan to your house. Change the hours or the loads and the picks are re-scored here, with the same planner and the same maker figures.
Where the energy goes, load by load
| Load | Hours | Running watts | Duty cycle | Energy | Share of worst case |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sump pump | 24 | 700–1,500 | 5–35% | 840–12,600 Wh | 90% |
| Wi-Fi router and modem | 24 | 15–40 | 100% | 360–960 Wh | 7% |
| A few LED lights | 8 | 15–80 | 25–75% | 30–480 Wh | 3% |
Energy = running watts × duty cycle × hours, at each end of the range. The right-hand end of every row is what the plan is sized on.
A sump pump, Wi-Fi and a few LED lights for 24 hours, run against all 58 units we track: 28 clear at least the best case, 27 do not, and 3 could not be judged (a missing maker figure or an unresolved recall identity). Every figure is from the maker’s own page or manual; nothing here was tested by us. The method.
Our pickEcoFlow DELTA 2 Max
The one most people should buy

$1,049 at Amazon, September 16, 20262,048 Wh (1,741 usable)2,400 W continuous4,800 W peak51 lb
The EcoFlow DELTA 2 Max clears the worst-case starting surge on EcoFlow's own peak rating, which is the number this plan cannot compromise on, and it is still a one-person carry rather than a fixture. It covers the quiet end of a 24-hour outage and not the storm end, which is true of everything portable. Two expansion batteries take it to three times the capacity, so a pit that turns out busier than you thought is an addition rather than a replacement. It suits an ordinary basement and outages measured in hours.
Against the worst case it is 12,299 Wh short: about 12.3 hours of full sun at its 1,000 W solar input, or roughly 61 hours from one 200 W panel, and real panels deliver less than their rating.
The listing we verified as the bare unit; the price is on Amazon.
A sump pump, Wi-Fi and a few LED lights for 24 hours:
- Energyonly in the best case
- Running loadyes, even in the worst case
- Starting surgeyes, even in the worst case
Three days (72 hours) of the same loads:
- Energyno
- Running loadyes, even in the worst case
- Starting surgeyes, even in the worst case
Living with it
A pump on a float switch has to be plugged in before the grid goes, not after: nobody is going down there to move a cord at three in the morning. This unit passes grid power through to whatever is connected while it charges, then picks the load up itself when the supply drops. EcoFlow's marketing page quotes that handover at a couple of hundredths of a second and the printed manual still gives the older, slower figure; either is quicker than a motor can notice, and the manual says plainly that it is not a no-break supply for computers. Above a moderate current it will only run in bypass for a stretch rather than indefinitely.
Then set the timers. With the outputs switched on and nothing drawing, the AC side turns itself off after half a day, and the whole unit after a couple of hours if the outputs are off; a pump that has not needed to run since the rain eased looks exactly like nothing. Both are adjustable in the app, and the time to change them is before the storm. The cost of leaving AC on is real, though: EcoFlow publishes no standby figure, independent testers who measured it disagree with each other, and all of them found the overhead worth caring about against a load this intermittent.
It refills from a wall outlet quickly enough to be worth doing in the lull between storms, although the maker's claimed time and the manual's own charging diagram do not describe the same thing. Five-year warranty, lithium iron phosphate cells rated for thousands of cycles, and it will not charge below freezing if it lives in an unheated garage rather than the basement.
- Switchover when the grid drops
- About 20 ms (manual says within 30 ms)ecoflow.com
- Pass-through charging
- Yes, via AC bypass; not a true UPS for serverswebsiteoss.ecoflow.com
- Wall recharge
- 0-80% in about 1.1 h on AC aloneecoflow.com
- Noise
- About 30 dBecoflow.com
- Charges between
- 0°C to 45°C (32°F to 113°F)websiteoss.ecoflow.com
- Low-load shutoff
- AC outlets shut off after 12 h with no load; adjustable in appwebsiteoss.ecoflow.com
- Expansion
- Up to 2 extra batteries, 6,144 Wh totalwebsiteoss.ecoflow.com
- Warranty
- 5-year warrantyecoflow.com
What owners report, from public threads and long-term reviews; not our own testing.
- One tester measured about 23W drawn just from leaving AC output switched on (versus about 5W with it off) and recommends switching it off when not needed.windinmyface.com
- At least one long-term owner reported USB output ports randomly stopped working, requiring a factory reset each time to restore them.4wdtalk.com
- Independent bench testing found real-world AC efficiency drops to about 77% at everyday 200W loads, well below the unit's rated sweet-spot efficiency.windinmyface.com
- One owner's 12V car outlet never worked from new, suspected to be an isolated manufacturing defect rather than a design-wide flaw.4wdtalk.com
- A one-year overlander who ran the unit daily calls it reliable and consistent, and a two-year owner says it still delivers its full rated 2,400W without dropouts.4wdtalk.com
What independent testers measured
We do not test units ourselves. These are figures published by testers who did, with the maker’s claim beside them where the tester gave it.
| Measurement | Result | Tester |
|---|---|---|
| Noise under load, measured | 52 dB measured fan noise during heavy loads/charging | Power Station Advisor |
| Wall charge, to 80% | 0-80% AC charge in 65 minutes, per the site's own spec/test line comparing it to the DELTA 2 (maker: EcoFlow rates 0% to 80% in 50 minutes (per a separate PowerStationAdvisor article on the same site)) | Power Station Advisor |
| Also measured | Real-world 14-hour power outage: ran fridge continuously, LED lights, charged devices, ran a space heater on low, finished with 23% capacity remaining, no add-on batteries | Power Station Advisor |
| Also measured | Refrigerator (full-size) runtime in personal testing: approximately 16-20 hours on a single charge (maker: EcoFlow-derived calculation elsewhere on the site put it at ~14.2 hours for a fridge cycling 100-400W) | Power Station Advisor |
- After eight months of testing, the DELTA 2 Max is their top pick for whole-home backup, striking the best balance of capability, longevity and value in its class. (Our Top Pick for Whole-Home Backup) Power Station Advisor
- Positioned as the better choice than the standard DELTA 2 for families needing whole-home backup, extended outages, and future battery expansion. Power Station Advisor
What you give up
Energy. It holds the least battery of the three and it is the first to empty on exactly the night you bought it for. One other thing belongs on this card: no published recall names this model, but a similarly named EcoFlow product was recalled and the dossier below names it, so match the model number on the box against the listing before you plug anything in.
Figures from us.ecoflow.com, captured August 12, 2026; recall screen: no published recall names this exact model (screened 2026-08-12), but a similarly named product was recalled; the dossier names it (how we screen, CPSC).
Less money, thinner marginJackery Explorer 2000 v2
Less money, thinner margin

$999 at Amazon, September 16, 20262,042 Wh (1,736 usable)2,200 W continuous4,400 W peak39 lb
The Jackery Explorer 2000 v2 holds much the same battery as our pick for less money and is the lightest of the three, but its peak rating clears this pump's starting surge in the best case only. That is worth saying without decoration: if your pump sits at the hard end of the range, Jackery's own peak figure does not cover the moment it starts. It is the pick for someone who knows their pump is a small one and wants the lightest box that will carry a quiet day of cycling. If you do not know what your pump draws, buy the margin instead.
Against the worst case it is 12,304 Wh short: about 30.8 hours of full sun at its 400 W solar input, or roughly 62 hours from one 200 W panel, and real panels deliver less than their rating.
The listing we verified as the bare unit; the price is on Amazon.
A sump pump, Wi-Fi and a few LED lights for 24 hours:
- Energyonly in the best case
- Running loadyes, even in the worst case
- Starting surgeonly in the best case
Three days (72 hours) of the same loads:
- Energyno
- Running loadyes, even in the worst case
- Starting surgeonly in the best case
Living with it
Start with the surge, because on this page it is the whole question. One bench test found the unit held its full continuous rating without overheating but peaked well short of the surge figure Jackery advertises. That is one tester's measurement rather than our finding, and it is not a recall, but on a page about starting a motor it is the report that matters most.
It passes grid power through while it charges, so the pump can sit plugged in and waiting, and Jackery rates the handover at a couple of hundredths of a second while stating plainly that this is not a no-break supply. Charging and running loads at the same time caps its AC output well below the headline. The shutoff to watch is energy-saving mode, on by default, which switches every output off after half a day whenever the AC load is small enough to look like nothing, and between cycles a sump pump is nothing at all. Turn it off with the button combination and change the standby timer in the app.
Wall recharge is quick on paper and slower in the room: Jackery's own pages give three different times for the same charge, one reviewer measured longer than all of them, and the fastest rate applies only if you enable emergency charging by hand. Testers liked the weight and the fan, which they found quiet and infrequent, and disliked the casing, which one called soft under the handle. Three years of warranty, five if you buy direct from the maker.
- Idle draw
- About 18W idle draw, confirmed independently near 17Wfaq.jackery.com
- Switchover when the grid drops
- Switches to battery in under 20 ms; not a true UPS for serversfaq.jackery.com
- Pass-through charging
- Can run devices while recharging; AC output capped at 1500Wjackery.com
- Wall recharge
- About 1.75 hours claimed; testers measured closer to 2.5 hoursjackery.com
- Noise
- Under 30dB in Quiet Mode; up to 45dB at full loadjackery.com
- Charges between
- 0°C to 45°C (32°F to 113°F) for chargingr.jackery.net
- Low-load shutoff
- Outputs auto-shut off after 12h with no load; adjustable in appr.jackery.net
- Expansion
- Not expandable; no add-on battery pack optionjackery.com
- Warranty
- 3-year warranty, extendable to 5 years totalfaq.jackery.com
What owners report, from public threads and long-term reviews; not our own testing.
- One long-term tester measured AC recharge at about 2.5 hours, slower than Jackery's claimed 1.7-1.75 hours; reaching the full 1,800W charge rate requires manually enabling Emergency Charging Mode.thesolarlab.com
- One reviewer found the housing felt soft and squishy under the carry handle in hands-on testing, contradicting Jackery's rugged, impact-resistant marketing for this unit.thesolarlab.com
- Reviewers said the 400W maximum solar input is undersized for a unit this size, making full solar recharge difficult on multi-day off-grid trips without falling back on AC power.thesolarlab.com
- At just under 39 lb, one long-term tester said they never hesitated to carry it around camp, unlike heavier competing power stations they were reluctant to move far from the vehicle.outdoorgearlab.com
- One tester found high-wattage devices like induction cooktops and eBike chargers drain the battery much faster than typical loads, and a single 200W solar panel isn't enough on extended trips.outdoorgearlab.com
What independent testers measured
We do not test units ourselves. These are figures published by testers who did, with the maker’s claim beside them where the tester gave it.
| Measurement | Result | Tester |
|---|---|---|
| Usable capacity, measured | 1,740 Wh measured power output (84% of advertised 2,042 Wh) (maker: 2,042 Wh) | OutdoorGearLab |
| Wall charge, empty to full | 0-100% in 2.5 hours via AC | OutdoorGearLab |
| Weight, measured | 38.9 pounds | OutdoorGearLab |
| Solar input achieved | 0-100% in about 10-12 hours under perfect sun with one 200W panel (the tester's typical real-world pairing) (maker: 400W max solar input capacity (theoretical 5-6 hr recharge at full 400W, per tester's own conditional statement, not independently verified at that wattage)) | OutdoorGearLab |
| Also measured | Fan runs quietly and infrequently (no dB figure given) | OutdoorGearLab |
- OutdoorGearLab calls it the power station most buyers should get, citing a strong balance of price and power output. (Editors' Choice (Best for Off-grid Camping)) OutdoorGearLab
- In OutdoorGearLab's roundup, the Explorer 2000 v2 is described as offering ample power for multi-day off-grid camping and extended blackouts. (Editors' Choice) OutdoorGearLab
What you give up
Margin, everywhere. The surge clears the best case only, there is no expansion port, so the ceiling is fixed the day you buy it, and the solar input is the lowest here, which makes a multi-day refill slow. It is also new enough that nobody has lived with one yet: every report above comes from review sites with hands-on samples rather than owners.
Figures from faq.jackery.com, captured August 12, 2026; recall screen: no published recall names this exact model (screened 2026-08-12) (how we screen, CPSC).
For a long stormAnker SOLIX F3800
For a long storm

$2,200 at Amazon, September 16, 20263,840 Wh (3,264 usable)6,000 W continuous9,000 W peak132 lb
The Anker SOLIX F3800 clears the worst-case surge with the most room to spare and holds nearly twice the usable battery of either smaller pick, which buys hours of hard cycling rather than a different verdict: it still covers the quiet end of a 24-hour outage and not the storm end. Where it pulls away is past that, with the largest solar input here and room for six expansion batteries. It suits a basement that floods properly, in a place where the power goes out for days rather than hours.
Against the worst case it is 10,776 Wh short: about 4.5 hours of full sun at its 2,400 W solar input, or roughly 54 hours from one 200 W panel, and real panels deliver less than their rating.
The listing we verified as the bare unit; the price is on Amazon.
A sump pump, Wi-Fi and a few LED lights for 24 hours:
- Energyonly in the best case
- Running loadyes, even in the worst case
- Starting surgeyes, even in the worst case
Three days (72 hours) of the same loads:
- Energyno
- Running loadyes, even in the worst case
- Starting surgeyes, even in the worst case
Living with it
Decide where it lives before it arrives. It weighs more than twice what either of the others does, it comes on casters with a telescoping handle, and every reviewer who moved one says the same thing: the wheels roll it across a flat floor, and stairs or a car take two people. A basement is down a flight of stairs, so plan that trip once and leave it there.
Anker SOLIX quotes the handover when the grid drops at a couple of hundredths of a second, confirmed in the manual's own table, but publishes no pass-through figure for the US unit on any page we captured. Leave the pump plugged in and watch the handover happen once in good weather rather than finding out in a storm. The unit also powers itself off after about half a day with the outputs off and nothing drawing, which is exactly what a float switch looks like between cycles; the standby time is adjustable in the app, and that is a setting to change before the rain.
No wall-recharge time is published for the US model either. One three-week test measured most of a charge in well under two hours, and solar input close to its rated ceiling in good sun falling to about a third of that under cloud. The same testers put inverter losses at around a seventh, so plan on the usable figure rather than the nominal one. It is near silent at light loads, though the fans come in past roughly two-fifths of capacity and get loud near the top. Five-year warranty, and it runs colder than the other two.
- Charges between
- 0°C to 40°C (32°F to 104°F) while chargingsignaturesolar.com
- Low-load shutoff
- Shuts off after about 12 h idle with no loadsignaturesolar.com
- Expansion
- Up to 6 add-on batteries, 26.88 kWh added capacityankersolix.com
What owners report, from public threads and long-term reviews; not our own testing.
- Multiple reviewers report fan noise climbs sharply under heavy load — about 68 dB at 90% load versus 58 dB at 50% load — despite near-silent operation at lighter loads.backuppowerhub.com
- The roughly 132 lb weight is a recurring complaint; reviewers needed a second person or a vehicle ramp to move it anywhere the built-in wheels couldn't roll it.protoolreviews.com
- One long-term tester measured real-world AC recharge at about 1 hour 38 minutes to 80% (roughly 2h21m full) on a standard outlet, slower than a quick top-up.backuppowerhub.com
- A 2-ton central air conditioner drained the unit in only about 1.6 hours despite its 6,000W rating, so it isn't a practical all-day whole-home AC backup alone.backuppowerhub.com
- One tester measured real-world inverter efficiency at only about 85%, meaning a 3,000W draw actually consumes roughly 3,530Wh from the battery — more than the rated draw implies.backuppowerhub.com
What independent testers measured
We do not test units ourselves. These are figures published by testers who did, with the maker’s claim beside them where the tester gave it.
| Measurement | Result | Tester |
|---|---|---|
| Wall charge, to 80% | 1 hour 38 minutes from 0-80% on a standard 120V/15A outlet (max 1,440W input) | Backup Power Hub |
| Wall charge, empty to full | 2 hours 21 minutes from dead to full via AC | Backup Power Hub |
| Inverter efficiency, measured | ~85% inverter efficiency, measured during testing | Backup Power Hub |
| Solar input achieved | 1,850W peak solar input achieved with three 400W panels in ideal conditions (maker: 2,400W rated solar input (per generatorchecker.com spec listing, not stated by this tester)) | Backup Power Hub |
| Noise under load, measured | 58 dB at 3 feet at 50% load (3000W) | Backup Power Hub |
| Noise under load, measured | 68 dB at 90% load (5400W), 'comparable to a dishwasher' | Backup Power Hub |
- After a three-week real-world test running central AC, refrigerators, and power tools, the reviewer rated the F3800 9.2/10, calling it the best split-phase 240V whole-home option currently on the market. (Editor's Choice (per site homepage listing, 9.2/10)) Backup Power Hub
- The reviewer calls the F3800 a solid investment at $3,499 for whole-home backup power or off-grid adventures, despite it being the heaviest single-unit station they've tested. The Solar Lab
What you give up
Weight and money. It costs about twice what our pick does and it becomes a fixture wherever you park it, so if your pit is an ordinary one, most of what you are paying to move never gets used. Reviewers also found the built-in light bright enough only as a dim nightlight, which is worth knowing in a basement with the power off.
Figures from ankersolix.com, captured August 12, 2026; recall screen: no published recall names this exact model (screened 2026-08-12) (how we screen, CPSC).
Day two and three
Three days (72 hours) of the same loads needs 3,690 to 42,120 watt-hours. None of the three picks covers even the bottom of that on a single charge, and neither does anything else we track, so past the first day the question stops being which box and becomes how you put energy back into it.
Storms tend to give the grid back in patches, and a wall outlet settles the whole argument in an hour or two; all three charge fast enough to be worth topping up in the lull. If the grid stays down, the refill is the sun, and here the picks are far apart. The Anker SOLIX F3800 accepts several times the solar input of the Jackery Explorer 2000 v2, whose own reviewers called its ceiling undersized for a battery that size, with the EcoFlow DELTA 2 Max between them. Panels deliver less than their rating and a storm sky less again, so if your outages are the multi-day kind, buy the expansion battery before the second panel. It works in the dark.
Hooking it up safely
The plug-in path is the plan on this page. The station sits indoors, the fridge, router and lamps plug into its outlets, and nothing touches the house wiring. That is the only path this page sizes.
If the station sits between the wall and the fridge in pass-through mode, the fridge keeps running when the grid drops and the station picks up the load. The switchover time and pass-through behaviour, where the maker publishes them, are listed under each pick above. A fridge tolerates a brief gap; a desktop computer may not.
Wired loads are a different job. A well pump, a furnace or a whole circuit needs a transfer switch or a power inlet installed by a licensed electrician. Never feed a station or a generator into a wall outlet: it backfeeds the line and can kill the crew restoring your power. The safety boundaries.
Output quality. A compressor wants a pure sine wave; that phrase belongs on the maker’s spec page, and a modified-sine inverter is the thing to avoid.
Buying it right
A search for any of these models returns bundles, sibling models and, often, the same unit under two listings at different prices. We link only a listing whose own title states the bare unit and its exact battery and output; the box should say the same. Check the seller is the maker or Amazon itself, and that the model number on the label matches the one on this page.
EcoFlow DELTA 2 Max
- The listing we verified: “EF ECOFLOW Portable Power Station DELTA 2 Max 2048Wh, 2400W LiFePO4 Battery”, $1,049 when checked. Title states 2048Wh and 2400W, matching our record exactly.
- “EF ECOFLOW DELTA 2 Max Power Station Extra Battery, 2048Wh LiFePO4 Battery”, $879: the same unit under a second listing at $879; we link the cheaper verified one.
- “EF ECOFLOW DELTA 3 Max Portable Power Station, 2048Wh LFP Battery, 2400W”, $1,199: a different model that a search for this one returns.
- “EF EcoFlow Delta 2 Max Portable Power Station with 800W Alternator Charger”, $1,249: a bundle, not the bare unit; the extra hardware is in the price.
- “EF ECOFLOW DELTA 2 Max Portable Power Station, 2048Wh, 2400W”, $1,399: the same unit under a second listing at $1,399; we link the cheaper verified one.
Jackery Explorer 2000 v2
- The listing we verified: “Jackery Explorer 2000 v2 Portable Power Station, 2042Wh, 2200W AC Output”, $999 when checked. Title states 2042Wh and 2200W, matching our record exactly.
- “Jackery HomePower 2000 Plus v2 Power Station, 2048Wh, 2400W AC Output”, $1,071: a different model that a search for this one returns.
- “Jackery Explorer 2000 v2 and 2x200W Solar Panels, 2042Wh, 2200W AC Output”, $1,639: a bundle, not the bare unit; the extra hardware is in the price.
Anker SOLIX F3800
- The listing we verified: “Anker SOLIX F3800 Portable Power Station, 3,840Wh”, $2,200 when checked. Title states 3840Wh and the exact model name with no variant word; it does not state a wattage, so output was not cross-checked against our 6000W record. (previously verified ASIN, re-checked by direct lookup)
- “Anker SOLIX F3800 Portable Power Station and 400W Solar Panel, 3,840Wh”, $2,400: a bundle, not the bare unit; the extra hardware is in the price.
- “Anker SOLIX F3800 Portable Power Station, 3840Wh, LiFePO4 Batteries, Ultra-High 6000W AC Output with 120V/240V, Solar Generator for Home Backup and Outdoor Camping (Renewed)”, $1,759: Listing is renewed/refurbished, not the new base unit..
What this page can’t promise
This page sizes a battery against a pump. It does not know how fast water comes into your pit, which is the number that decides everything here, and it cannot promise you a dry basement. It is also worth saying plainly that this is the one appliance you back up while standing in the place that floods: keep the station up off the floor and well away from the pit, and do not wade anywhere to reach it.
Nothing here was tested by us. The figures are the makers' own, read off their pages and manuals and cited under each pick, and where a marketing page and a printed manual disagree we say so rather than take the better number. What owners report comes from public threads and hands-on review sites and is labelled as such.
The competition
Every unit we track was run against the same plan. The ones that clear at least the best case are below with their own shortfall; the ones that do not are listed with the rule they fail.
Every unit that clears at least the best case (28)
| Model | Battery | Peak | Weight | Worst-case shortfall | Verified price | Verdict |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Zendure SuperBase V6400 | 6,438Wh | 5,000W | not captured | 8,568 Wh | no verified listing | Clears the best case only |
| Jackery Explorer 5000 Plus | 5,040Wh | 14,400W | 134 lb / 61.0 kg | 9,756 Wh | no verified listing | Clears the best case only |
| Zendure SuperBase V4600 | 4,608Wh | 5,000W | 55 lb / 25.0 kg | 10,123 Wh | no verified listing | Clears the best case only |
| EcoFlow DELTA Pro 3 | 4,096Wh | 8,000W | 114 lb / 51.5 kg | 10,558 Wh | $3,699 | Clears the best case only |
| Goal Zero Yeti PRO 4000 | 3,994Wh | 7,200W | 116 lb / 52.5 kg | 10,645 Wh | no verified listing | Clears the best case only |
| Anker SOLIX F3800 | 3,840Wh | 9,000W | 132 lb / 60.0 kg | 10,776 Wh | $2,200 | Clears the best case only |
| Anker SOLIX F3800 Plus | 3,840Wh | 9,000W | 132 lb / 60.0 kg | 10,776 Wh | no verified listing | Clears the best case only |
| Jackery HomePower 3600 Pro Max | 3,600Wh | not captured | not captured | 10,980 Wh | no verified listing | Clears the best case only |
| EcoFlow DELTA Pro | 3,600Wh | 7,200W | 99 lb / 45.0 kg | 10,980 Wh | no verified listing | Clears the best case only |
| Jackery HomePower 3600 Plus | 3,600Wh | not captured | not captured | 10,980 Wh | no verified listing | Clears the best case only |
| Anker SOLIX F3000 (UL9540 Certificated) | 3,072Wh | 7,200W | 91 lb / 41.5 kg | 11,429 Wh | no verified listing | Clears the best case only |
| EcoFlow DELTA 3 Ultra (3072Wh) | 3,072Wh | 7,200W | 72 lb / 32.7 kg | 11,429 Wh | no verified listing | Clears the best case only |
| Jackery HomePower 3000 | 3,072Wh | 7,200W | 60 lb / 27.0 kg | 11,429 Wh | no verified listing | Clears the best case only |
| EcoFlow DELTA 3 Ultra Plus (3072Wh) | 3,072Wh | 7,200W | 74 lb / 33.7 kg | 11,429 Wh | $1,599 | Clears the best case only |
| BLUETTI Apex 300 Home Battery Backup | 2,765Wh | 7,680W | 84 lb / 38.0 kg | 11,690 Wh | no verified listing | Clears the best case only |
| Anker SOLIX F2600 | 2,560Wh | 2,800W | 70 lb / 31.6 kg | 11,864 Wh | no verified listing | Clears the best case only |
| Zendure SuperBase Pro 2000 | 2,096Wh | 4,000W | 47 lb / 21.2 kg | 12,258 Wh | no verified listing | Clears the best case only |
| Anker SOLIX C2000 Gen 2 | 2,048Wh | 4,000W | 41 lb / 18.6 kg | 12,299 Wh | $1,000 | Clears the best case only |
| EcoFlow DELTA 2 Max | 2,048Wh | 4,800W | 51 lb / 23.0 kg | 12,299 Wh | $1,049 | Clears the best case only |
| EcoFlow DELTA 3 Max (2048Wh) | 2,048Wh | 4,800W | 45 lb / 20.3 kg | 12,299 Wh | no verified listing | Clears the best case only |
| Jackery HomePower 2000 Plus v2 | 2,048Wh | not captured | not captured | 12,299 Wh | no verified listing | Clears the best case only |
| BLUETTI AC200L | 2,048Wh | not captured | 62 lb / 28.3 kg | 12,299 Wh | no verified listing | Clears the best case only |
| EcoFlow DELTA 3 Max Plus (2048Wh) | 2,048Wh | 6,000W | not captured | 12,299 Wh | no verified listing | Clears the best case only |
| Jackery Explorer 2000 Plus | 2,043Wh | 6,000W | 62 lb / 27.9 kg | 12,304 Wh | no verified listing | Clears the best case only |
| Jackery Explorer 2000 v2 | 2,042Wh | 4,400W | 39 lb / 17.9 kg | 12,304 Wh | $999 | Clears the best case only |
| PECRON E2000LFP | 1,920Wh | 4,000W | 49 lb / 22.0 kg | 12,408 Wh | no verified listing | Clears the best case only |
| Jackery Explorer 1500 Ultra | 1,536Wh | 3,600W | 39 lb / 17.5 kg | 12,734 Wh | no verified listing | Clears the best case only |
| Jackery Explorer 1500 v2 | 1,536Wh | not captured | not captured | 12,734 Wh | no verified listing | Clears the best case only |
What will not work, and why (27)
- Too little energy (10). Even the best case needs 1,230 Wh over 24 hours; these hold less than that: Jackery Explorer 1000 Plus (JE-1000C) (1,075 Wh usable); Jackery Explorer 1000 v2 (910 Wh usable); Anker SOLIX C1000 (898 Wh usable); Jackery HomePower 1000 v2 (870 Wh usable); EcoFlow DELTA 3 Plus (870 Wh usable); EcoFlow DELTA 3 Classic (1024Wh) (870 Wh usable); EcoFlow DELTA 3 (870 Wh usable); BLUETTI Elite 100 V2 (870 Wh usable); EcoFlow DELTA 2 (EFD330) (870 Wh usable); Anker SOLIX C1000 Gen 2 (870 Wh usable).
- Out of scope: 10 fuel generators. Not a failure of the numbers: this plan is indoors-only, and a generator burns fuel, so it must stay outside, far from windows, doors and vents. Honda EU2200i Super Quiet Inverter Generator, Honda EU3000iS Inverter Generator, FIRMAN WH03242 Dual-Fuel Inverter, Champion 201444 5500W Inverter, Champion 201255 5500W Open Frame Inverter (CARB), Champion 201254 5500W Dual Fuel Open Frame Inverter (CARB), Champion 201513 6500W Inverter, Champion 201598 8500W Wireless Start Tri Fuel Inverter, Champion 201176 9000W Tri-Fuel Open Frame Inverter, Westinghouse WGen9500DF.
- Jackery Explorer 600 v2 — Continuous output is 500W. Your selected loads draw at least 730W running together, so this unit cannot run them even in the best case.
- BLUETTI AC50B — Continuous output is 700W. Your selected loads draw at least 730W running together, so this unit cannot run them even in the best case.
- Jackery Explorer 300D — Continuous output is 140W. Your selected loads draw at least 730W running together, so this unit cannot run them even in the best case.
- Anker SOLIX C300 — Continuous output is 300W. Your selected loads draw at least 730W running together, so this unit cannot run them even in the best case.
- Jackery Explorer 300 v2 — Continuous output is 300W. Your selected loads draw at least 730W running together, so this unit cannot run them even in the best case.
- EcoFlow RIVER 3 Plus — Continuous output is 600W. Your selected loads draw at least 730W running together, so this unit cannot run them even in the best case.
- EcoFlow RIVER 3 — Continuous output is 300W. Your selected loads draw at least 730W running together, so this unit cannot run them even in the best case.
Questions people ask
Can a portable power station run a sump pump?
If its peak output clears your pump's starting surge, yes. This plan needs 2,030 to 4,620 watts for a split second, and a station rated below that will not run the pump weakly, it will fail to start the motor. Energy is the second question and a separate one: how long it lasts depends entirely on how much water is coming into the pit.
How long will a power station keep my sump pump going?
That depends on the water rather than the battery. Across 24 hours this plan needs anywhere from 1,230 to 14,040 watt-hours. In a dry spell the pump barely runs and any of these picks carries the day comfortably; in the storm that took the power out it can run a third of the time or more, and no portable battery we track covers that on one charge. Size for the storm.
Does the pump have to stay plugged into the station the whole time?
In practice, yes. A sump pump runs off a float switch with nobody watching, so it has to already be plugged into the station when the grid drops. All three picks pass grid power through to whatever is connected while they charge themselves, then take the load over in a few hundredths of a second when the supply fails, which is quicker than a motor can notice. Set it up that way in good weather.
Will the station switch itself off while the pump is sitting there waiting?
It can, and this is the setting people miss. All three shut down on their own after a long enough stretch with nothing drawing power, and between cycles a sump pump draws nothing at all. On our pick and the Anker SOLIX F3800 you change that timer in the maker's app; on the Jackery Explorer 2000 v2 the mode that does it is on by default and switched off with a button combination. Do it before the storm, not during it.
Is a battery backup sump pump a better idea than one of these?
We cannot answer that from what we captured. The dedicated battery systems that sit beside the main pump are not in the data behind this page, so we have no runtimes, prices or specifications to set against these stations, and we are not going to guess at them. What we can say is what a station does that a single-purpose system does not: the same box keeps your router and your lights on, and it refills from solar. Ask an installer about the dedicated route.
Other plans we sized
- Home backupThe best portable power stations for home backup
A fridge, the internet, a few lamps and everyone's phones through a day without the grid, indoors, with no engine to run. Sized on the harder end of every range.
- Camping and road tripsThe best portable power stations for camping
Two nights of phones, a laptop and a few lights is a small job with a wide range, and the range is what catches people out. All three picks cover the easy end of it on one charge; the hard end takes a panel at the site or a full charge before you leave.
- CPAPPortable power for a CPAP machine: one night, and three
A CPAP is a small, steady load, so this comes down to battery size and one switch: the heated humidifier. Covering a single night is settled; covering three, or running the heat, takes a bigger box.
- Portable generatorsThe best portable generators for home backup
Three generators judged on the one number that decides the job: the watts on tap for the second a fridge and a chest freezer both restart at once. Not battery capacity, and not the running total.
- ComparedThe home-backup class: DELTA Pro 3, SOLIX F3800, Explorer 5000 Plus and the rest
The largest portable power stations on one table, run against a full-day household plan, with expansion paths, 240V output and the makers' gaps marked.
- RefrigeratorHow much battery it takes to run a refrigerator, and which power station does it
A fridge is the appliance everyone wants kept running, and the one whose appetite varies most from house to house. Size it on the harder end of that range and the choice of station mostly makes itself.
- FurnaceThe best portable power stations for a gas furnace
A gas furnace burns its own fuel and asks the grid only for the blower and the control board, which is the good news. The bad news is that both are wired into the house, so the battery is half the job and an electrician is the other half.
- Well pumpThe best backup power for a well pump
A well pump is the hardest start in an ordinary house, and it is wired in at 240 volts rather than plugged into anything. That is why this plan usually lands on a generator, and why every figure here is sized on the harder end of its range.
- ComparedAnker SOLIX F3800 vs F3800 Plus: the real differences
The Anker SOLIX F3800 and F3800 Plus side by side from Anker's own figures, judged against one full-day household plan, with the real differences marked.
- ComparedJackery Explorer 1000 v2 vs 1000 Plus: the expandable one or the cheaper one
Jackery's Explorer 1000 v2 and 1000 Plus on one table from the maker's own figures, judged against one fridge plan, with the 2000 v2 for scale.
- Camping with a fridgeThe best portable power stations for camping with a fridge
Put a compressor fridge in the back of the car and it becomes most of the battery: it is the one thing in your kit that keeps drawing while you sleep. We size this page from the hard end of every range.
- GuidePower station or generator: which do you actually need?
This is the decision that comes before choosing a product, and it is the expensive one to get wrong in either direction. A battery bought for a well pump is wasted money; a standby generator bought to keep a router alive is a great deal more of it.
- GuideHow to connect a power station to your house
These four methods differ less in how much power they move than in what they can reach: a cord reaches a plug, transfer equipment reaches a circuit. The fifth thing people try, a cord into a wall socket, can kill the line worker restoring your power.
- GuideSolar panels for a power station: how many, and how long
Panels are where the optimism creeps into a backup plan. The arithmetic is simple enough to do on the back of an envelope, and the answer it gives you is the best case, not the likely one.
- GuideExpansion batteries: what an extra battery for a power station actually does
An extra battery for a power station is the cheapest-sounding fix for the wrong problem about half the time. It buys hours, it does not buy watts, and the pack you buy has to be the exact one your station was built for.
EcoFlow DELTA 2 MaxOur pick
Check price at Amazon