Champion 201175 8500W Dual Fuel Inverter
The Champion 201175 8500W Dual Fuel Inverter makes 7,000 W running on gasoline and 6,300 W on propane, and starts motors that need up to 8,500 W.
Outdoors only, far from doors, windows and vents: the exhaust carries carbon monoxide. It has 240-volt output, so it can feed a well pump through a transfer switch.
Amazon links here are affiliate links: we may earn a commission, at no cost to you. It does not change our numbers. How that works.
Price checked October 14, 2026; Amazon shows today’s price. This is the listing we matched to the bare unit, not a bundle.


Photos from the Amazon listing we matched to the bare unit.
The numbers behind that
This generator makes up to 7,000 watts and can start motors that briefly need 8,500 watts. It runs on gasoline or propane.
It supplies both 120 and 240 volts, so it can run a well pump or other 240-volt equipment through proper transfer equipment. Of the 16 household loads we track, it can handle 16.
It must run outside. The exhaust contains carbon monoxide, which you cannot smell and which kills.
Outdoor use only
This generator burns fuel and produces carbon monoxide. Run it outdoors only, well away from doors, windows and vents, with the exhaust pointed away from the building. Fit working CO alarms indoors. CO Shield automatic engine shutoff (shuts off the engine if unsafe CO levels detected)
What it can run
| Load | Draw | Starting | Verdict |
|---|---|---|---|
| Wi-Fi router and modem | 15–40W | 40W | Will work |
| Phone charging and small USB devices | 10–40W | 40W | Will work |
| A few LED lights | 15–80W | 80W | Will work |
| Laptop and monitor | 45–150W | 150W | Will work |
| CPAP | 30–100W | 100W | Will work |
| Refrigerator/freezer | 100–700W | 2,900W | Will work |
| Chest freezer | 80–500W | 2,200W | Will work |
| Gas-furnace blower | 400–1,200W | 3,500W | Will work |
| Sump pump | 700–1,500W | 4,500W | Will work |
| Well pump | 700–2,000W | 6,000W | Will work |
| Window air conditioner | 500–3,250W | 7,200W | Will work |
| Microwave | 800–1,800W | 1,800W | Will work |
| Coffee maker | 700–1,500W | 1,500W | Will work |
| Television | 40–250W | 250W | Will work |
| Garage door opener | 300–800W | 1,800W | Will work |
| 12 V compressor fridge (camping) | 25–110W | 320W | Will work |
Runtime for a generator is a fuel question, not a capacity one — see the table above.
Recall screen
No published recall names this exact model
No CPSC recall in the 2026-10-13 snapshot names this exact model (19 recalls name the brand; none names this model).
This check cannot clear your own unit. Most recalls cover only certain serial numbers. Read the model and serial number off the label on the unit itself, then check the maker's recall page before you use it, sell it, or buy it.
Output
Propane carries less energy per unit than gasoline, so a dual-fuel generator puts out less on gas. Size on the lower figure if propane is your fallback fuel.
- Continuous output
- 7,000W
- Starting / surge
- 8,500W
- Output voltage
- 120/240V
Supplies 240V, so it can run a well pump or other 240V load — through correctly installed transfer equipment, never a cord into an outlet. - Starting method
- Electric, recoil (no remote listed)
- Weight
- 214 lb
Fuel and runtime
| Fuel | Running | Starting | Tank | Runtime at 50% load |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gasoline | 7,000W | 8,500W | 5.3 gal | not stated |
| Propane (LPG) | 6,300W | 8,500W | not stated | not stated |
Runtime is quoted at half load. Your actual runtime falls as load rises, and refuelling a hot generator is itself a burn and fire hazard — let it cool first.
Outlets
- two 120V 20A GFCI duplex 5-20R
- 120/240V locking L14-30R
- 120/240V 14-50R
- 12V DC automotive
Outlet configuration decides what you can plug in directly. Powering house circuits instead of appliances requires a transfer switch or inlet installed by a licensed electrician.
Buying the right one
Verified listing — the bare unit
ASIN B0C9KZPM6Y · $1,599.00 when checked on October 14, 2026 · purchasable
Listing's own model number is 201175, matching the model number exactly. Prices change: Amazon shows today’s price.
Some links on this page are affiliate links. If you buy through one we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you. It does not affect which products the planner recommends: rankings come from the sizing rules on our methodology page, and a product whose recall status is unclear is never ranked or linked, whatever the commission.
Listings we turned down
Searching for this model returns bundles, sibling models and refurbished units alongside the bare product. These are the ones we checked and did not link, with the reason.
| Listing | Price | Why it is not this product |
|---|---|---|
| Champion 8500-Watt Remote Start Tri Fuel Portable Inverter Generator | $1,543 | Listing's model number is '201537' and the title does not carry the part number '201175'. |
| WEN 6800-Watt Dual Fuel RV-Ready Electric Start Portable Inverter Generator with | $798 | Listing is an accessory or part that names this model, not the unit itself. |
| WEN 8000-Watt 120V/240V Dual Fuel Portable Generator, Electric Start, 340cc, Tra | $623 | Listing's model number is 'DF8000X' and the title does not carry the part number '201175'. |
| Westinghouse 12000 Peak Watt Dual Fuel Portable Inverter Generator, Remote Elect | $1,899 | Listing is an accessory or part that names this model, not the unit itself. |
| WEN Quiet and Lightweight 4800-Watt Dual Fuel RV-Ready Electric Start Portable I | $647 | Listing's model number is 'DF480iX' and the title does not carry the part number '201175'. |
Safety boundary
- Outdoor only. Carbon monoxide from this unit is lethal and undetectable by smell.
- Backfeeding is prohibited. Never run a cord from this generator into a wall outlet. It can kill line workers restoring your power.
- Any connection to building wiring requires a licensed electrician and, in most places, a permit and inspection.
- Store fuel safely and away from the running unit. Let the engine cool before refuelling.
Source
Champion product page for the 201175 8500W Dual Fuel Inverter
product page specs · captured 2026-10-13 · Manufacturer documented
operator manual · captured 2026-10-13 · Manufacturer documented



