The best CARB-compliant generators, each checked against PG&E's list

Buy the A-iPower SUA4300iD ($649.99 at Amazon) for RV trips and a fridge in an outage. It is on PG&E's July 2026 rebate list, and PG&E takes only CARB-compliant generators.

It runs on gas or propane and shuts itself off if carbon monoxide builds up. For a house with an inlet or transfer switch, buy the Westinghouse WGen6000DFc EFI ($1,049 at Amazon). For tent camping, buy the lighter Pulsar PG2200BiS ($429.99 at Amazon).

Our pick for each job

How we picked: each unit is on PG&E’s list and on sale at Amazon under its California model number. For most jobs we chose the inverter that runs on gas or propane, makes at least 3,000 running watts, and shuts itself off on carbon monoxide, by the maker’s word. The small pick is the lightest generator here and runs on gas or propane. The house pick clears our home backup plan and has a transfer-switch outlet. Specs are the makers’ own figures.

How we checked that each one is CARB compliant

We found every model on PG&E’s list of generators that qualify for its rebate. The list is dated July 17, 2026. Its first line says every portable generator on it must be CARB compliant1. It names 132 models by brand and model number.

CARB’s own list of Executive Orders can check only one brand here. CARB certifies engines, and its list names the engine maker, which is often not the brand on the box. Honda is the exception: CARB’s list names the EU3200i2.

For the Honda EU3200i, CARB’s orders for model year 2026 are U-U-001-1106 (engine) and U-U-001-1107 (fuel system, which names the EU3200i); for 2027 they are U-U-001-1110 and U-U-001-11122. For every other model here, the order names only the engine maker, so PG&E’s list is the check.

GeneratorOn PG&E’s list (July 17, 2026)What the maker says
A-iPower SUA4300iDYes: “A-iPower SUA4300iD”1The maker's Amazon listing title says "EPA&CARB Compliant".13
Pulsar PG2200BiSYes: “Pulsar PG2200BiS”1The maker's Amazon listing title says "CARB Compliant".14
Westinghouse WGen6000DFc EFIYes: “Westinghouse WGen6000DFc EFI”1Westinghouse's page says "Carb compliant in all 50 States".8
Pulsar PGD40ISCOYes: “Pulsar PGD40ISCO”1The maker's Amazon listing does not say. PG&E's list is the check.15
Pulsar GD400BNYes: “Pulsar GD400BN”1The maker's Amazon listing title says "CARB Compliant".16
Westinghouse WGen9500DFc EFIYes: “Westinghouse WGen9500DFc EFI”1Westinghouse's page says "Carb compliant in all 50 States".9
Honda EU3200i (EU3200IAC)Yes: “Honda EU3200IAC”1Honda's page: "CA Compliant: Yes (EU3200IAC only)". The EU3200IAN is the 49-state model.7

Check the model number, not just the name. Some generators come in a California version and a 49-state version.

  • Honda EU3200i. Buy the EU3200IAC, the 50-state model. The EU3200IAN is the 49-state model7.
  • Westinghouse WGen9500DFc, without EFI. It is not on PG&E's list, and Westinghouse's page for it makes no CARB claim. Westinghouse calls it the WGen9500DFc "with CO Sensor": the "c" is not a CARB mark. The WGen9500DFc EFI is on the list.10

Honda EU2200i. Honda's own spec page for the EU2200i says "Not for sale in California".6 Some buying guides still list it as a California pick.

A model missing from PG&E’s list is not proof that it fails CARB. The list shows which models passed; it does not judge the rest. Example: Champion 201254. It is not on PG&E's list, but Champion calls it "EPA certified and CARB compliant".11

Every generator compared

Each row is one generator Amazon sells now, matched by its California model number. Watts are the maker’s figures. Running watts are what it keeps up; starting watts cover the second a motor kicks on.

GeneratorGas: running / startingPropaneOutletsCO shutoffWeightGood forAmazon
A-iPower SUA4300iD
Inverter, dual fuel, 120 V
3,450 / 4,300 W123,100 / 3,900 W30 A twist-lock (L5-30R; RV adapter in the box), 20 A household duplex, 12 V DCYes: CO sensor with auto shutdown54.8 lb13A fridge, lights or an RV (30 A adapter in the box), on gas or propane, with a CO shutoff$649.99 at Amazon
Pulsar PG2200BiS
Inverter, dual fuel, 120 V
1,800 / 2,200 W141,600 / 2,000 WTwo 15 A household, USBNot stated by the maker44 lb14Camping, tailgating, a fridge and lights; small enough to carry$429.99 at Amazon
Westinghouse WGen6000DFc EFI
Open frame, dual fuel, 120/240 V
6,000 / 7,500 W85,400 / 6,750 W30 A 240 V twist-lock for a transfer switch or inlet (L14-30R), 30 A RV (TT-30R), 20 A household duplexYes: CO sensor139 lb17A fridge, freezer, furnace blower and sump pump, or a 240 V well pump, through an electrician-fitted inlet$1,049 at Amazon
Pulsar PGD40ISCO
Inverter, gas only, 120 V
3,200 / 4,000 W15gas onlyNot listed in full by the makerNot stated by the maker47.3 lb15Gas only; a 13,500 BTU RV air conditioner, the maker says$450.07 at Amazon
Pulsar GD400BN
Inverter, dual fuel, 120 V
3,200 / 4,000 W162,800 / 3,600 WRV-ready (outlets not listed in full by the maker)Not stated by the maker47.3 lb16Gas or propane at 7.5 lb less than the A-iPower, with no CO shutoff stated$599 at Amazon
Westinghouse WGen9500DFc EFI
Open frame, dual fuel, 120/240 V
9,500 / 12,500 W188,500 / 11,200 W50 A 240 V (14-50R) and 30 A 240 V twist-lock (L14-30R), both for a transfer switch; two 20 A household duplexes (GFCI)Yes: CO sensor221 lb18A 240 V well pump plus the fridge, freezer, furnace and sump at once; over our price cap$1,399 at Amazon
Honda EU3200i (EU3200IAC)
Inverter, gas only, 120 V
2,600 / 3,200 W7gas only30 A locking, 20 A household duplexYes: CO-MINDER shuts it down59.1 lb7A quiet Honda for an RV or a few house loads; over our price cap$2,799 at Amazon

Prices checked November 1, 2026; we keep no price history. Every generator here runs outdoors only, far from doors and windows: why a generator never goes in the garage.

For home backup in California

For a house, buy the Westinghouse WGen6000DFc EFI. Our home backup plan (a fridge, freezer, furnace blower and sump pump) needs up to 7,060 starting watts and 4,060 running watts. The WGen6000DFc EFI makes 7,500 and 6,000 on gas8. It has the 30 A 120/240 V locking outlet (L14-30R) that an electrician-fitted inlet takes, and a CO sensor. Our main home backup pick, the WEN DF8000X, is not on PG&E’s list, so in California buy this one.

A 240 V well pump on its own is covered too. Our well pump plan (the pump, a fridge and lights) needs up to 6,780 starting watts. The WGen6000DFc EFI clears it and makes 240 V.

To run the well pump and the whole home backup list at once, step up to the Westinghouse WGen9500DFc EFI. That list needs up to 10,060 starting watts and 6,060 running watts. The WGen9500DFc EFI makes 12,500 and 9,500 on gas and has a 50 A and a 30 A 120/240 V outlet18. It costs more than $1,100.

Anything wired into the house, such as a furnace or a well pump, needs an inlet or transfer switch fitted by a licensed electrician.

Can I still buy a gas generator in California?

Yes. A new gas generator can be sold in California if its engine is certified by CARB and labeled5. CARB says gas engines have been certified for model years 2026 and 2027, and stores may keep selling CARB-certified stock3.

For model year 2028, CARB’s limit on smog-forming exhaust from new small engines, generators included, drops to zero4. CARB also says makers may use emission credits to certify gas engines through 2032, and that its rules “do not ban gasoline-fueled engines and equipment”3.

The rules do not apply to a generator you already own, to diesel generators, or to standby generators fixed in place3. In June 2026 the US EPA sent CARB’s federal approval of these rules to Congress for review3. If that changes the rules, CARB will post it.

Questions people ask

Is the Honda EU2200i CARB compliant?

Honda says the EU2200i is not for sale in California. Its spec page says so in the line for California. If you want a Honda in California, Honda sells the EU3200i in a 50-state version: buy the EU3200IAC, not the EU3200IAN, which is the 49-state model. CARB's Executive Order list names the EU3200i for model years 2026 and 2027.

Can I still buy a gas generator in California?

Yes, if the engine is certified by CARB and carries its label. CARB says gas engines have been certified for model years 2026 and 2027, and stores may keep selling CARB-certified stock. Every generator on this page is on PG&E's list of CARB-compliant generators.

What does CARB compliant mean on a generator?

CARB has certified the engine for that model year with an Executive Order, and the unit carries an emissions label. CARB's list names the engine maker, which is often not the brand on the box. So it rarely shows a generator's model number. PG&E's rebate list does, which is why we check each model there.

Which states require a CARB-compliant generator?

Only California. CARB says federal law has kept other states from adopting its small-engine rules since 2004. A "50-state" generator is one sold as legal in California too.

Can I keep using the generator I already own in California?

Yes. CARB says its small-engine rules have no requirements for owners and do not affect equipment already sold and in use. The rules are for the makers and stores that sell new engines.

Are dual-fuel generators CARB compliant?

Many are. 4 of the 5 generators under $1,100 on this page run on gas or propane, and all of them are on PG&E's list.

Sources

  1. PG&E: Generator and Battery Rebate qualified portable generators (PDF, updated July 17, 2026), read November 1, 2026
  2. CARB: small off-road engine Executive Orders workbook (revised September 29, 2026), read November 1, 2026
  3. CARB: Small Off-Road Engine Regulations, Frequently Asked Questions (PDF), read November 1, 2026
  4. CARB: 2021 amendments to the small off-road engine regulations, read November 1, 2026
  5. CARB: which equipment the small off-road engine rules cover, read November 1, 2026
  6. Honda: EU2200i specifications, read November 1, 2026
  7. Honda: EU3200i specifications, read November 1, 2026
  8. Westinghouse: WGen6000DFc EFI, read November 1, 2026
  9. Westinghouse: WGen9500DFc EFI, read November 1, 2026
  10. Westinghouse: WGen9500DFc (no EFI), read November 1, 2026
  11. Champion: 201254 5500W Dual Fuel Open Frame Inverter (CARB), read November 1, 2026
  12. A-iPower: SUA4300iD, read November 1, 2026
  13. A-iPower SUA4300iD Amazon listing (maker's title and details), read November 1, 2026
  14. Pulsar PG2200BiS Amazon listing (maker's title and details), read November 1, 2026
  15. Pulsar PGD40ISCO Amazon listing (maker's title and details), read November 1, 2026
  16. Pulsar GD400BN Amazon listing (maker's title and details), read November 1, 2026
  17. Westinghouse WGen6000DFc EFI Amazon listing (details), read November 1, 2026
  18. Westinghouse WGen9500DFc EFI Amazon listing (maker's bullets and details), read November 1, 2026

Related: best portable generator for home backup · best generator for a well pump · every generator we track · can you run a generator indoors?

A-iPower SUA4300iDCARB-compliant generator

$649.99 at Amazon