Westinghouse iGen12000DFc
The Westinghouse iGen12000DFc makes 9,000 W running on gasoline and 8,100 W on propane, and starts motors that need up to 12,000 W. It runs about 11 hours at half load on a 7.9-gallon tank of gasoline (maker figure).
Outdoors only, far from doors, windows and vents: the exhaust carries carbon monoxide. It has 240-volt output, so it can feed a well pump through a transfer switch.
No Amazon listing for the bare unit passed our name-and-spec check (checked October 14, 2026), so there is no buy link. What we rejected and why.
The numbers behind that
This generator makes up to 9,000 watts and can start motors that briefly need 12,000 watts. It runs on gasoline or propane. At half load it runs about 11 hours on a tank.
It supplies both 120 and 240 volts, so it can run a well pump or other 240-volt equipment through proper transfer equipment. Of the 16 household loads we track, it can handle 16.
It must run outside. The exhaust contains carbon monoxide, which you cannot smell and which kills.
Outdoor use only
This generator burns fuel and produces carbon monoxide. Run it outdoors only, well away from doors, windows and vents, with the exhaust pointed away from the building. Fit working CO alarms indoors. built-in CO sensor automatically shuts down if dangerous CO levels are detected
What it can run
| Load | Draw | Starting | Verdict |
|---|---|---|---|
| Wi-Fi router and modem | 15–40W | 40W | Will work |
| Phone charging and small USB devices | 10–40W | 40W | Will work |
| A few LED lights | 15–80W | 80W | Will work |
| Laptop and monitor | 45–150W | 150W | Will work |
| CPAP | 30–100W | 100W | Will work |
| Refrigerator/freezer | 100–700W | 2,900W | Will work |
| Chest freezer | 80–500W | 2,200W | Will work |
| Gas-furnace blower | 400–1,200W | 3,500W | Will work |
| Sump pump | 700–1,500W | 4,500W | Will work |
| Well pump | 700–2,000W | 6,000W | Will work |
| Window air conditioner | 500–3,250W | 7,200W | Will work |
| Microwave | 800–1,800W | 1,800W | Will work |
| Coffee maker | 700–1,500W | 1,500W | Will work |
| Television | 40–250W | 250W | Will work |
| Garage door opener | 300–800W | 1,800W | Will work |
| 12 V compressor fridge (camping) | 25–110W | 320W | Will work |
Runtime for a generator is a fuel question, not a capacity one — see the table above.
Recall screen
No published recall names this exact model
No CPSC recall in the 2026-10-13 snapshot names this exact model (13 recalls name the brand; none names this model).
This check cannot clear your own unit. Most recalls cover only certain serial numbers. Read the model and serial number off the label on the unit itself, then check the maker's recall page before you use it, sell it, or buy it.
Output
Propane carries less energy per unit than gasoline, so a dual-fuel generator puts out less on gas. Size on the lower figure if propane is your fallback fuel.
- Continuous output
- 9,000W
- Starting / surge
- 12,000W
- Output voltage
- 120/240V
Supplies 240V, so it can run a well pump or other 240V load — through correctly installed transfer equipment, never a cord into an outlet. - Starting method
- Electric, remote, recoil
- Weight
- 189 lb
Fuel and runtime
| Fuel | Running | Starting | Tank | Runtime at 50% load |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gasoline | 9,000W | 12,000W | 7.9 gal | 11h |
| Propane (LPG) | 8,100W | 11,000W | not stated | 5h |
Runtime is quoted at half load. Your actual runtime falls as load rises, and refuelling a hot generator is itself a burn and fire hazard — let it cool first.
Outlets
- one 120V 20A duplex 5-20R (GFCI)
- 120/240V 50A 14-50R
- 120/240V 30A L14-30R
- ST Switch outlet
Outlet configuration decides what you can plug in directly. Powering house circuits instead of appliances requires a transfer switch or inlet installed by a licensed electrician.
Buying the right one
No exact base-unit listing resolved
No Amazon listing’s own title states this model’s battery size and output, so we link none. Every candidate we checked is listed below with the reason it was rejected.
Listings we turned down
Searching for this model returns bundles, sibling models and refurbished units alongside the bare product. These are the ones we checked and did not link, with the reason.
| Listing | Price | Why it is not this product |
|---|---|---|
| Westinghouse 12000 Peak Watt Dual Fuel Portable Inverter Generator, Remote Elect | $1,899 | Listing is an accessory or part that names this model, not the unit itself. |
| Westinghouse 12000 Peak Watt Dual Fuel Portable Inverter Generator, Remote Start | $2,748 | Listing's model number is 'not stated' and the title does not carry the part number 'iGen12000DFc'. |
| Westinghouse 5000 Peak Watt Super Quiet Dual Fuel Portable Inverter Generator, R | $999 | Listing's model number is 'iGen5000DFc' and the title does not carry the part number 'iGen12000DFc'. |
| DuroMax XP12000EH 12,000-Watt Dual Fuel Portable Generator – Gas & Propane, Elec | $1,299 | Listing's model number is 'XP12000EH' and the title does not carry the part number 'iGen12000DFc'. |
| Westinghouse 14500 Peak Watt Dual Fuel Home Backup Portable Generator, Remote El | $1,349 | Listing's model number is 'WGen11500DFc' and the title does not carry the part number 'iGen12000DFc'. |
Safety boundary
- Outdoor only. Carbon monoxide from this unit is lethal and undetectable by smell.
- Backfeeding is prohibited. Never run a cord from this generator into a wall outlet. It can kill line workers restoring your power.
- Any connection to building wiring requires a licensed electrician and, in most places, a permit and inspection.
- Store fuel safely and away from the running unit. Let the engine cool before refuelling.
Source
Westinghouse product page for the iGen12000DFc
watts, tank, runtime, outlets, dimensions, weight, dBA, warranty, start, CO shutdown, manual link · captured 2026-10-13 · Manufacturer documented